Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-13-2017, 09:59 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
A couple other things to note is that mono/multi-mono plugins do not seem to be affected. Only seems an issue with stereo plugins.

And the problem can just show up in the middle of a session out of nowhere after just working fine for hours.
ok, so i setup a new session with One Mono and ONe Stereo Track - and i did see your note about Mono Tracks but i thought it might be a good idea to have both for this test ..

i will leave this session open for a bit then close it and work at some other sessions today and see what happens ..

i created 4 favorites from 4 different vendors - Avid EQ3 1-band, Filterback E606, Waves Q1, and Soundtoys Sie-Q ..

Q: do you think i need to do anything different in this respect ???
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-13-2017, 10:47 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Nothing to do different. Just mix the record as usual and see if it pops up. For me it can be every couple days, sometimes every day. Depends on how many hours I spend mixing.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-13-2017, 10:52 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Nothing to do different. Just mix the record as usual and see if it pops up. For me it can be every couple days, sometimes every day. Depends on how many hours I spend mixing.
ok .. cool .. i wish the favorites did not get wasted when you toss Pref's .. as i test multiple versions of pro tools for issues and it is best to toss pref's in between .. but not the end of the workd to redo ..

do you know a way to keep these ?? if not, no need to reply .. i will ask a couple higher ups if it is possible ... i am sure it is one of the PRef's that has this in it ..

and if i can find the file i can move it to desktop and then re-insert after pref toss ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-13-2017, 10:58 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Not sure of a way to keep them. Honestly, I almost never trash my prefs. I can't think of a single time in the last 10 years that this actually solved any of my Pro Tools issues. Every time I trashed them, whatever problem I was having was still present and I always ended up restoring my old preferences file. So I only do this as a last resort.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-13-2017, 11:02 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Not sure of a way to keep them. Honestly, I almost never trash my prefs. I can't think of a single time in the last 10 years that this actually solved any of my Pro Tools issues. Every time I trashed them, whatever problem I was having was still present and I always ended up restoring my old preferences file. So I only do this as a last resort.
when i find that file .. i will let you know ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-13-2017, 02:47 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

I've asked on here dozens of times where the plugin favorites pref is stored and I never got an answer. It's not clear.

I do know that if i use the PT Prefs app to make a backup and the restore all the prefs on my secondary machine, the plugin favorites are transferred though.

I would also add some Plugin Alliance, FabFilter and Eiosis to the list if you have those.

Or just temporary load my prefs.

You can use the PT Prefs app to backup all your prefs, and load another set. Or try clean slate and restore your old prefs if needed.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-13-2017, 02:52 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
I've asked on here dozens of times where the plugin favorites pref is stored and I never got an answer. It's not clear.

I do know that if i use the PT Prefs app to make a backup and the restore all the prefs on my secondary machine, the plugin favorites are transferred though.

I would also add some Plugin Alliance, FabFilter and Eiosis to the list if you have those.

Or just temporary load my prefs.

You can use the PT Prefs app to backup all your prefs, and load another set. Or try clean slate and restore your old prefs if needed.
i have a couple Plugin Alliance, but not the others .. and i have no problem trying your prefs .. i toss mine more than a drunk tosses his cookies after too much wine !!!
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-13-2017, 02:54 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Not sure of a way to keep them. Honestly, I almost never trash my prefs. I can't think of a single time in the last 10 years that this actually solved any of my Pro Tools issues. Every time I trashed them, whatever problem I was having was still present and I always ended up restoring my old preferences file. So I only do this as a last resort.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-13-2017, 03:03 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
+1
if you saw my reasons you might too ... i test different versions of PT and it cleans out the pipes when doing that so there is no residual nasties ..

i have seen it fix things .. happy to hear you Cats have no troubles .. be thankful as many peeps still do ... cheers
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-13-2017, 03:21 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
+1
if you saw my reasons you might too ... i test different versions of PT and it cleans out the pipes when doing that so there is no residual nasties ..

i have seen it fix things .. happy to hear you Cats have no troubles .. be thankful as many peeps still do ... cheers
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing which EQ/Dynamic plugin opens on Artist mix Interactivesound Artist Series 3 04-04-2017 01:31 PM
Instrument Plugin opens every time I touch fader peter.larrett@me.com Artist Series 1 12-05-2016 09:32 AM
What's you favorite Plugin Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 45 03-28-2010 04:14 AM
What's your favorite compressor plugin? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 06-14-2005 01:35 PM
Favorite Delay plugin celdry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-26-2003 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com