Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-03-2017, 04:36 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,372
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Yep, seen it here as well, in our case with plug-ins from waves…
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-11-2017, 02:33 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

It would be nice to see a fix for this, or anybody at AVID acknowledge it. The favorites list is nice but it's useless when you have to play guess and check which plugin actually loads.

Not to mention, compared to the way you can search your plugins and organize them in REAPER, the PT plugin management system is weak.

We need the one thing you can do to work!
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-11-2017, 02:44 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
It would be nice to see a fix for this, or anybody at AVID acknowledge it. The favorites list is nice but it's useless when you have to play guess and check which plugin actually loads.

Not to mention, compared to the way you can search your plugins and organize them in REAPER, the PT plugin management system is weak.

We need the one thing you can do to work!
we need to be able to reproduce this to show Avid .. can you help me reproduce this ?? as i had said in a earlier posting, i cannot reproduce this here ..

what am i missing ???
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:24 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
we need to be able to reproduce this to show Avid .. can you help me reproduce this ?? as i had said in a earlier posting, i cannot reproduce this here ..

what am i missing ???
I'm not sure but it's a real thing reported by multiple users. Maybe try loading more than 3 favorites. Try using multiple vendors.

Here are my PT Prefs if that helps:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/adze5p5t5u...Prefs.zip?dl=0

Did you see my GIF that shows it happening? It's real.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:37 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
I'm not sure but it's a real thing reported by multiple users. Maybe try loading more than 3 favorites. Try using multiple vendors.

Here are my PT Prefs if that helps:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/adze5p5t5u...Prefs.zip?dl=0

Did you see my GIF that shows it happening? It's real.
yes i saw what you did ... and yes i loaded more than 3 presets and yes from different vendors ..

still cannot make it happen ... i will keep trying ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-13-2017, 04:57 AM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Thanks. At first I assumed it was something on my end but many times I've trashed my prefs and cleared the favorites list to start fresh.

The issue always comes back.

It may be hard to pinpoint because for me it's an intermittent issue. I'd say 1/3 of the time, I don't see the issue but more often than not, when I select something from the favorites menu, a different plugin farther up the list is loaded.

I think I see it more with mono tracks than stere.

Are you testing with a mono track?
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-13-2017, 06:40 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
Thanks. At first I assumed it was something on my end but many times I've trashed my prefs and cleared the favorites list to start fresh.

The issue always comes back.

It may be hard to pinpoint because for me it's an intermittent issue. I'd say 1/3 of the time, I don't see the issue but more often than not, when I select something from the favorites menu, a different plugin farther up the list is loaded.

I think I see it more with mono tracks than stere.

Are you testing with a mono track?
i will make sure it is just one mono track in the session and give it another go today ...
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-13-2017, 08:23 AM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
i will make sure it is just one mono track in the session and give it another go today ...
Thanks. I also pasted a link to my PT Prefs. Somewhere in there should lay the key to reproducing the issue.

It doesn't seem to be tied to one specific plugin.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-13-2017, 09:49 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

A couple other things to note is that mono/multi-mono plugins do not seem to be affected. Only seems an issue with stereo plugins.

And the problem can just show up in the middle of a session out of nowhere after just working fine for hours.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-13-2017, 09:50 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Bug: When selecting a favorite plugin insert, the plugin above the one selected o

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
A couple other things to note is that mono/multi-mono plugins do not seem to be affected. Only seems an issue with stereo plugins.

And the problem can just show up in the middle of a session out of nowhere after just working fine for hours.
ok, good to know .. i am about to test this again .. since my Omelette is now "IN My Belly"

standby ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing which EQ/Dynamic plugin opens on Artist mix Interactivesound Artist Series 3 04-04-2017 01:31 PM
Instrument Plugin opens every time I touch fader peter.larrett@me.com Artist Series 1 12-05-2016 09:32 AM
What's you favorite Plugin Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 45 03-28-2010 04:14 AM
What's your favorite compressor plugin? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 06-14-2005 01:35 PM
Favorite Delay plugin celdry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-26-2003 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com