Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2018, 11:37 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Digidesign Control 24?

Hey fellas wondering if you could help me out. I just went to turn on my control 24 and it doesn’t turn on. It was just working fine yesterday didn’t act Wierd at all it just stopped turning on today. Any advice thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:02 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: Digidesign Control 24?

Anyone please. Any help is appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2018, 01:04 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,423
Default Re: Digidesign Control 24?

Quote:
Originally Posted by primomusic View Post
Anyone please. Any help is appreciated

Hi,


Almost definitely power supply unit which is removable. Could be any component so you'll need to have it check by an electronics expert or avid service center. Unless you are able yourself to take it out and check it over. there is a slight possibly its something simple but sounds like component failure from what you describe.


Most electronic repair centres won't need the whole unit just the power supply if you can take it out yourself it will make it much easier. its about 14-16 screws on the back of the unit to remove it and about 10 cable connections which you'll need to label so you know where to put them back on.


You have checked the fuse or tried a new power cable?



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.6 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2, Quad x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B Aphex 20Z. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:00 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: Digidesign Control 24?

Hey Chris thank you so much for the response. Do you think it might be a fuse. I was loading protools and than it just stayed stuck on DAE menu. Than my control 24 went from being on to just turning off and than it didn’t want to turn on anymore
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:57 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,423
Default Re: Digidesign Control 24?

Quote:
Originally Posted by primomusic View Post
Hey Chris thank you so much for the response. Do you think it might be a fuse. I was loading protools and than it just stayed stuck on DAE menu. Than my control 24 went from being on to just turning off and than it didn’t want to turn on anymore



Hi,


From memory there are some fuses on the power board but its rare for them to just pop once the unit is on and working they usually pop when turning on or if there's some power disturbance power surge or power drop etc. plus if one of the power bridge fuses had blown other parts of the desk will stay on, but what you describe is sudden death of the whole unit so if its not the main fuse then its almost definitely power supply component.




I have had power supply issues about 5-6 times over the past 10 years. never had sudden death like you have but still its always the power supply that causes issues.


Probably not an expensive part just needs an expert to diagnose and replace the component. ask around where you live for someone who repairs electronics or musical instruments. as i said they should only need the power supply to be able to test for component failure.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.6 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2, Quad x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B Aphex 20Z. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2018, 03:28 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: Digidesign Control 24?

Wow thank you Chris for your help! Appreciated it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:41 PM
primomusic primomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 168
Default Re: Digidesign Control 24?

I’m gonna take to deltronics here in Chicago to look at it. They charged $75 just to look at it. If it’s just a fuse that’s gonna be one expensive fuse replacement lol
Regardless I wouldn’t even know what fuse to replace anyway
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digidesign control 24 and pt 10 tomboc ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 09-20-2016 02:53 AM
Avid Digidesign Control|24 and Sterling Modular Desk Console for Control 24-Separate relaxo Buy & Sell 3 09-05-2013 08:05 AM
WTB: Digidesign Control 24 andreconde Buy & Sell 0 06-05-2012 09:42 AM
Control of DigiDesign PRE mjr@du.se Artist Series 3 01-04-2011 10:25 PM
Digidesign pro control brad 3 Tips & Tricks 10 10-31-2003 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com