Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-11-2001, 06:08 AM
davemc davemc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

Try moving the 57 around.
Pull it back from the speaker.
45'to speaker.
I used a M160 Ribbon the other week, these are my normal Overhead mics until I can afford a Royer Stereo.
Sounded nice.
My current setup is a 57 off axis and KM85 on axis through a Neve check the phase and it sounds good.
Tried the same setup with a Condesser room mic back did not like teh three mics any 2 sounded good.

Also a 1176 comp (or plugin) can sound great, just do not over comp and loose the attack of teh guitar. Been getting into long attack short release lately.

The JCM900 is my second worst amp after teh valvestate's to get a big sound. I have miced some in very wierd positions to get full sounds. If you have the time and a friend. Get him with headphones ofr T/B to move the mic around, when it sounds good out of the speakers say stop.
I got the best sound out of an amp when the guy place the mic on the side next to the amp as he was bored and was about to come back in.
__________________
Bye Dave
www.indentmusic.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2001, 09:21 AM
snoopy snoopy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 744
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

Does it sound thin just in PT, or does it sound thin coming out of the amp (speaker)?
__________________
Colin Miller
Teaboy Audio Recall Sheets
http://teaboyaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2001, 09:50 AM
PeeTee PeeTee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 813
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

Get yourself a Little Labs PCP Distro. It's what we use here. 1 guitar becomes 4 guitars...Marshal JMP-1, Orange ADR30, Sans Amp cab simulator and dry for AmpFarming.
http://www.mercenary.com/pcpindis.html

And, definitely NO room mic! The room's gotta be dead.

[ August 11, 2001: Message edited by: PeeTee ]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2001, 10:30 AM
MMazurek MMazurek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 211
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

I've been using a Royer R121 and an SM57 on the cabinet. I sit in front of the amp with rather loud headphones and 'play' with the two mics and amp (mostly the mics). The guitarist gets his tone, I just teak a knob or two around. Push, pull, back, forth, etc, til it sound right. It's fun to hear the phase relationship between the mics and either 'use it' or 'lose it' depending on the sound you're after. Still not 100% happy though.

Next on gear list: FATSO, then PCP Distro, then a few more cabintets/amps to have around.

Anyone have suggestions for mixing TWO heavy guitars (tuned down), a heavy bass (also tuned down), with drums. Am I better served by using the guitars for low fequencies and puttin the bass in as more of an attack at 3K or so. Should I try automating eq's for one to get out of the way of the other at different points in the song. Any suggestions would be MUCH appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-11-2001, 11:37 AM
music music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 270
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

Excellent responses. I have tried many things. I have tried the off axis thing with some good results. I have listened through the speakers and headphones to find the best position for the mic to achieve the best tone. I think maybe it is my amp itself and the cab. I am going to invest into a mesa dual rectifier and recto cab w/ vintage 30's. I am hoping this will do the trick. The fatso also sounds great. I have also used a sennheiser 609 with some good results. Just not happy yet.

Thanks for all the replies.

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-11-2001, 04:36 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

The haves:

Royer R121 and an SM57 on the cabinet
PCP Distro
Cranesong Hedd

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] workin fine!

The have not's:

FATSO
mesa boogie dual rectifier and recto cab w/ vintage 30's

[img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] on the list dudes!!!

Unity!

lots of like mided people on this thred!

Rock on brothers!

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Jules

P.S. My demo test of the FATSO at the AES in Amstrdam was infuriating! (Because I knew I needed one the second I auditioned one!) I chatted with the designer for quite a while, he is like a tall John McEnroe, he ....wears a white headband!

[ August 11, 2001: Message edited by: Jules ]

[ August 11, 2001: Message edited by: Jules ]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-11-2001, 04:39 PM
blake eat world blake eat world is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, OR, US
Posts: 335
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

I know someone recommended a new marshall amp like a JCM2000, but seriously don't. The tone in those things(or lack there of) is horrible. If you go marshall, make sure your amp is a single channel and as old as possible. I actually have a JCM900 (single channel of course) and it works pretty well for things like punk rock but it just doesn't rip like my old JMP's. And the latest models of marshalls are sterile as hell, i'm really not impressed with what that company's doing. they're all about bells and whistles lately and not amps. Oh well, gotta make money right..
__________________
www.clarityrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-12-2001, 12:19 AM
Tony Robinson Tony Robinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 15
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

Could someone please expand on the use of the PCP Distro and tell me where I can get more info on the Fatso. I'm a newbie here and am trying to learn all I can! Thanks! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-12-2001, 01:19 AM
Dead Space Dead Space is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA
Posts: 88
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

First of all, why the tube screamer? Those things developed a reputation for having some sort of magical tone quality and now everyone thinks they can just plug it in and have the same results. They're really only useful for driving non-master volume amps from overdrive to full-on saturation. A JCM 900 doesn't need a tube screamer, trust me.

And as for the Mesa/Boogie rectum fires, I've always felt they sounded thin and static-y.

If you can find one, sell your soul for a 30th anniversary Marshall head (blue tolex). That and a cab with the vintage 30 12s will do you good. Oddly enough on that amp, the crunch or "rhythm" channel has a better "peel the paint off your house" tone than the lead channel. I almost never use the lead channel. Haven't heard the JCM2000. I would also second blake's emotion on the JMPs. They are usually huge sounding.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-12-2001, 01:53 AM
Corey Shay Corey Shay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 755
Default Re: Guitar tone in pro tools

It's all up to taste I think... I love both the JCM2000 and the rectifiers, but I'm also a bit of a metalhead. If you have a like mind, you won't be sorry if you're going for a dual rectifier. But if you have a little extra you might go for a triple. They have a little extra power. The rectifiers are quite versitile with tons of knobs, and don't sound thin at all to me, they just have a hefty amount of bite. If you're really serious, try multiple amps simultaneously thru the same guitar. Then you gotta eq in the mix of course.

And Jules, I'm aware of your (and some others') problem of getting distorted guitars to digital, but honestly I don't think I've ever had a problem with that. Quite frankly, sometimes digital can be better than going to tape first as Ampex for example can take a bit of the edge off, too much. However, BASF 900 seems to thicken it up a little. The enhancement is not as significant as it is on drums however in my opinion. Just exactly what kind of problems are you having anyway?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guitar tone reduced in Pro Tools 10 trainwrecktwostep Pro Tools 10 18 09-17-2017 04:41 AM
Noob requiring help with guitar tone in pro tools boycie Eleven Rack 5 05-31-2011 06:30 PM
U2 guitar tone shultzee13 Tips & Tricks 7 03-18-2011 11:38 AM
Guitar tone Jason Lowe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-03-2004 08:14 AM
NEW MIX , HUGE GUITAR TONE Pete Weaver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 32 05-29-2002 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com