Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2013, 04:21 PM
Mattmattmatty Mattmattmatty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Pro Tools 8: Activation code not working/Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy check)

Hello.



I am trying to reinstall my Pro Tools 8. Every time I try to do so, I receive an 'Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy check)'. Looking at other posts on here, it seems that the commonest solution to this is to go to My Digi and dowload from there (rather than from the DVD).



However, when I type my activation code (the number beginning DIGI0800 ...) I'm told that 'the code you provided is invalid'. I have registered the product, and I'm typing in the digits very carefully, paying attention to the case and the 0s, and including the spaces.



So I really have two groups of questions:



(1) Am I right in thinking that I should be able to download Pro Tools again via My Digi? And, if so, what could be going wrong with my code? And,



(2) Are there any other solutions to the 'Error: Data Error ...' business that I might try instead?



The reason I uninstalled and then attempted to reinstall Pro Tools in the first place was because I couldn't get any playback on Pro Tools. So I feel like the problems are just multiplying! Really frustrating, as I'm desperate to get back onto my Pro Tools projects.



I'd be really grateful for any advice.



On a more general note, this is my first posting on here, but I've been on the community threads as a non-member a tonne of times, and have found various threads really useful. So, thank you too, for that!



Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2013, 05:21 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Pro Tools 8: Activation code not working/Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy che

If you've previously registered it then it should already be listed as a download in your MyAvid account. All you should need to do is sign in and look for the download link.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2013, 05:26 AM
Mattmattmatty Mattmattmatty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 8: Activation code not working/Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy che

Thanks for the swift reply, Scott! Pro Tools doesn't appear under My Downloads. However, after speaking to Avid registration, they're sending me a link that will allow me to download it. Its not being there had something to do with purchasing it on a disc in the first place (rather than as a download) or something ... but it looks like this issue is about to be resolved.

Next: onto fixing the problem with the sound!

Thanks again for your help.

Matt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data error (cyclic redundancy check) rustywp Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 07-07-2012 06:35 AM
Data error (cyclic redundancy check) DJLILPETE2003 Pro Tools 9 0 12-07-2010 12:38 AM
Installation error: cyclic redundancy check randych Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 17 11-13-2009 08:01 AM
cyclic redundancy error on pro tools 8 le on vista smoochdaddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-02-2009 02:17 AM
Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy check) macmanjams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-12-2009 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com