Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2009, 08:35 AM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default PT8 takes long to launch

My fresh and clean installed PT8 takes about 3 minutes to launch, and about 2 1/2 min. before anything appears on the screen. Is that normal?
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2009, 09:14 AM
Toneffekte Toneffekte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT8 takes long to launch

I think Spotlight is trying to Index your drives.
Check if magnifying glass in top right corner has a dot in the center.


Open Spotlight in system preferences,
Click on privacy tab.
Drag your audio hard drives to the box to add them.
This will stop Spotlight from indexing those drives.

Pro Tools should open quickly then.

Worked for all of my systems.

Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2009, 09:40 AM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default Re: PT8 takes long to launch

Thanks a lot, Toneffekte,

I´ll look into that next time I´m in the studio.

Martin
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT takes a long time to save. JWalkerVS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2015 06:13 PM
do i have to bounce to disk??? it takes too long!! woodbeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-24-2006 05:21 AM
takes entirely TOO LONG to open sessions rickbryant305 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-14-2005 07:01 PM
Record takes too long? Rams Boy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-13-2001 07:21 AM
PT5 takes too long to save Anibal Tips & Tricks 2 01-10-2000 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com