Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-15-2002, 11:03 PM

Default I can WRITE midi notes, but midi controller won\'t.

I have an Alesis SR-16 and a MidiMan MidiSport 2x2 connected to my G4/450 running PTLE/AM3.

I downloaded the SampleTank FREE (AWESOME... BTW) in the hopes of using my SR-16 as a sampler controller for better drum sounds. (I used to just program my SR-16 and record raw audio into my sessions, so this is my FIRST time interfacing with midi.)

I can WRITE notes in the midi track and have the notes play SampleTank, but nothing happens when I hit pads on my SR-16.

I read all my manuals and I *THINK* I have OMS set up correctly, as well as the midi set up in my SR-16. That part seemed pretty basic.

I GUESS MY QUESTION IS THIS: There are "88 Keys" on the midi track, and only 12 pads on my SR-16; Do I have to set the 12 pads on my SR-16 to correlate with the "keys" that trigger SampleTank in the midi track? If so... HOW? Is this my problem?

Am I making sense? I hope so!

Thanks for your help!

HELP!!!
Old 10-16-2002, 01:24 PM

Default Re: I can WRITE midi notes, but midi controller won\'t.

Yes you are making sense.

First we need to check that your drum machine will send a midi note when you tap a pad.

I don't think it will. Open a midi track in PT and assign the input to ALL. I think this is the best way to make sure PT will listen to anything that comes in the midi port. Set that midi track to record and even with out it running, any incoming midi messsage should make the meter register on that channel.