Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2008, 11:38 AM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default More Weirdness

I have never had this problem, but I have all my drums bussed through a stereo bus as I always do. Take a look at the pic link below and you can see where the mute automation is set on the Aux to mute just before a ride hit, which you can see on the OH track above it. Well it is clearly being told to mute well before the transient, but I can still hear a split second of the ride before the mute fully engages. And if I mess with my Buffer setting the Mute reacts quicker??? At 64 samples the mute triggers before the transient and the split second of ride is gone. Does the buffer setting really affect how quickly the automation such as muting reacts?????

http://www.oddsareproductions.com/Pics/pic.jpg

I just installed CS8 yesterday and have never noticed this before, is it a bug?

I'm running 10.4.9 and 7.4cs8.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9

Last edited by OddsAre; 12-04-2008 at 01:04 PM. Reason: i originally put I had 7.4.2cs8 and that was a mis-type, I have 7.4cs8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2008, 01:03 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: More Weirdness

anyone?
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2008, 01:35 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: More Weirdness

Maybe it's just me, but I've always noticed mute automation for aux sends to be a bit behind, not sure what it is but I have noticed it too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2008, 01:41 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: More Weirdness

This makes no sense to me because I have always been able to zoom in and surgically mute and automate with no issues. I can't see how the Playback Buffer can fluctuate how the mutes react??? Digi are you there to chime in on this one?
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:09 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: More Weirdness

This is normal in that automation is not sample accurate and, yes, can be affected by buffer size.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:26 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: More Weirdness

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
This is normal in that automation is not sample accurate
Wow I should say so, it is muting over 2500 samples after it is suppose to! Is this also the same in PT HD? I know playing around with buffer size is much less of an issue with ADC on the HD side, but are the top mixers in the world dealing with this issue as well, or only us lowly LE peeps?
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:26 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: More Weirdness

Right,
I've noticed this when automating the mute for a send to a vocal delay...even though at times it looks like I have it unmuted before the word starts, it usually will cut off the front of the word....just gotta play with it til it sounds good to the ear.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2008, 04:03 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: More Weirdness

Quote:
Originally Posted by OddsAre View Post
Wow I should say so, it is muting over 2500 samples after it is suppose to! Is this also the same in PT HD? I know playing around with buffer size is much less of an issue with ADC on the HD side, but are the top mixers in the world dealing with this issue as well, or only us lowly LE peeps?
Everyone deals with it, but on HD you have a little more control in that you can assign more DSP on the cards to mixing, which speeds up calculation of automation.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.3 weirdness Cryos Pro Tools 10 5 10-01-2012 08:38 PM
E.R. weirdness. guitaramundo Eleven Rack 2 09-16-2012 02:40 PM
PT6.1 HD3 weirdness Goff Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-31-2012 04:16 AM
ADC weirdness Muzoid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-18-2008 07:19 PM
7.3 Weirdness mattshort 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-16-2007 06:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com