Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:41 PM
darkroom darkroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Default Novice yet complicated 002r sync question

Howdy,

I am brand new to pro tools, DAWs, and Apples. I just started playing around with a new iMac G5 1.8, 002r w/6.4 LE. I am trying to dump Tascam DA78 DTRS tracks into pro tools, I have had some success.

My set-up:

MOTU Digital Timepiece (DTP) is the clock master
DA78 is synched to DTP via Tascam sync connector
MOTU 2408(the ancient original version) is connected via word clock to the DTP
MOTU 2408 is in standalone mode to convert DA78 tracks into ADAT format.
MOTU 2408 ADAT optical out is connected to 002r optical in
Pro Tools clock is set to internal RCA/S/PDIF, ADAT/optical

This seems to work so far.

In the future I may try to use the MOTU 2408 as 8 additional analog inputs via the ADAT lightpipe to the 002r. I want to make sure I have the best sync possible.

The DTP has a S/PDIF sync output, for slaving S/PDIF devices (It also has a digidesign superclock output, but the 002r seems to have no way to use the superclock without a bnc connector).

Is there any reason why I should or should not connect the S/PDIF output of the DTP to the S/PDIF input of the 002r when Pro Tool is in internal ADAT/RCA SPDIF mode? Will the 002r use the clock signal coming in the S/PDIF jack?

Thanks,
Darkroom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:16 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Novice yet complicated 002r sync question

If an external digital source is supplied to the 002, the 002 clock needs to be set to external, unless the 002 is sending clock to the external device(s) over the S/PDIF or optical port. It may not happen much, but you WILL get clicks and pops otherwise.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:40 PM
darkroom darkroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: Novice yet complicated 002r sync question

oops, my bad. I meant to say that I have the clock in pro tools set to external RCA/S/SPDIF, ADAT/Optical - not internal.

Thanks for the correction.

But what about the RCA S/PDIF input on the 002r? Should I connect the DTP S/PDIF clock output to it?

Thanks,
Darkroom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer Dowski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-13-2008 09:21 AM
plug in question from a novice against88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-08-2006 08:40 PM
Novice question stainless MIDI 1 09-27-2005 10:53 PM
novice question zig2 Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 10-22-2003 11:45 AM
Novice question on mbox/PT6.0/OSX otterfarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-03-2003 02:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com