Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-19-2019, 08:10 AM
techno_telemann techno_telemann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: How can I use one license on two different computers with a digital iLok key?

Unless it's the fault of some kind of user error or there is a problem with one of my machines, this cloud system is extremely frustrating and unreliable. Frequent errors or hard fails uploading changes to the cloud, failure to save certain samples to the cloud, download errors or a notification that there is no project file when opening a project that was saved and uploaded on another computer, etc. If I were to purchase a physical iLok key, does it transfer the license as well as the desired project file or does the project have to be moved with a separate drive?
__________________
[Pro Tools 2019.6.0] iMac 5K (2019) / 3.6 GHz 8-core Intel i9 / 24 GB RAM / Radeon Pro 580X / macOS Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-19-2019, 08:12 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: How can I use one license on two different computers with a digital iLok key?

One alternative is to have 2 or more iLoks depending on how many computers you have and then just transfer the licenses from one iLok to another using iLok's License Manager. Just need to be sure to leave the computers running when transferring.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-19-2019, 09:16 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: How can I use one license on two different computers with a digital iLok key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by techno_telemann View Post
Unless it's the fault of some kind of user error or there is a problem with one of my machines, this cloud system is extremely frustrating and unreliable. Frequent errors or hard fails uploading changes to the cloud, failure to save certain samples to the cloud, download errors or a notification that there is no project file when opening a project that was saved and uploaded on another computer, etc. If I were to purchase a physical iLok key, does it transfer the license as well as the desired project file or does the project have to be moved with a separate drive?
"cloud system"? iLok cloud licensing and Pro Tools cloud projects/collaboration are two separate things.

I would not want to inflict Cloud Projects on anybody, it seems a buggy, poorly implemented mess. I would get off that onto good old style local sessions.

iLoks do nothing but contain license keys. They cannot contain project/session or any other data.

Pro Tools *projects* live in the Pro Tools proprietary cloud, you need to convert them into *sessions* to live on the computer. Then you can do things like copy them to a small USB memory stick (formatted exFAT, ~same size as your iLok, keep them on the same keyring) and use that to move the sessions between computers. (Don't run the sessions off the USB stick, copy it to a local storage that meet Pro Tool audio drive preference specs (and on a Mac is formatted HFS+ or APFS or Windows in formatted NTFS).

You can also use cloud storage options like Google Drive or Dropbox etc. to save copies of sessions and move between computers. But do not run Pro Tools on those sessions in the cloud, make a copy on local disk and work on that.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-19-2019 at 10:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-19-2019, 09:54 AM
sleepingtiger sleepingtiger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 189
Default Re: How can I use one license on two different computers with a digital iLok key?

There is software called Virtualhere which can be used to set up a virtual usb port over a network. I have it on an old pc at my studio. When I think I may need to access PT at home but don't want to carry my ilok, I unplug from my main machine and plug it into my Virtualhere server. Then I can access the ilok from home. It's reliable as long as the connection isn't disrupted. For anything crucial I just carry the ilok.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5
Dell Precision T7400
32 gigs of RAM
Windows 10 Pro
HD Native PCIe
Lynx Aurora with LT-HD
Apogee
Mytek
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-19-2019, 10:37 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,933
Default Re: How can I use one license on two different computers with a digital iLok key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
One alternative is to have 2 or more iLoks depending on how many computers you have and then just transfer the licenses from one iLok to another using iLok's License Manager. Just need to be sure to leave the computers running when transferring.
That is effectively using Cloud but instead of having the luxury of no iloks you would just transfer the licensed between ilok1-cloud-ilok2
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-20-2019, 09:44 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: How can I use one license on two different computers with a digital iLok key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That is effectively using Cloud but instead of having the luxury of no iloks you would just transfer the licensed between ilok1-cloud-ilok2
Yes, in a sense, but you don't have to worry about a spotty Internet connection and losing your cloud license while you're trying to work. And with ZDT and TLC on both iLoks, you're covered in case of "disaster".
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Different PT versions on 2 computers - 1 license possible ThijsDeMelker Licensing & Accounts 2 08-29-2019 06:41 AM
License Error - Software Component Unavailable installing iLok License Manager martinaston Pro Tools 12 9 12-29-2016 08:16 PM
With one license, can I install Pro Tools 11 HD on two computers, one not HD? boxedin Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 12-26-2013 03:34 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
License on 2 computers??? beergeek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-13-2006 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com