Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2019, 11:02 AM
gdgross's Avatar
gdgross gdgross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Default Best way to use wav samples

Hi all. I'm pretty fluent in PT, but new at using samplers, so i thought i'd post this question here, as it's kinda basic it seems to me.

I've mostly used PT to record real instruments and have used some virtual instruments that I didn't create myself. Like Kontakt, Arturia synths, and some of the built in stuff in PT. (almost always later replaced with a real one tho...)

I'd like to start getting into pop producing a little more and using some external wav samples I have.

What's the easiest way to a bunch of wav samples in PT? I have several folders of claps, kicks, percussion, loops, and even other pitched instruments. In the past I've just scrolled through in a browser and dropped them onto an audio track manually, but that's a bit tedious.

Can I load them all up into a new instrument in kontakt or Xpand!2 or something like that? I'm sure people must be doing something like this.

Perhaps there are tutorials out there that cover this seemingly basic thing?

Thanks!
__________________
Geoff

www.merlotembargo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2019, 03:37 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 248
Default Re: Best way to use wav samples

Kontakt is the easiest way imho, but of course you need to own it as the demo version times out after 30 minutes. Structure free plays samples but the workflow is horrible.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2019, 04:44 PM
gdgross's Avatar
gdgross gdgross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Default Re: Best way to use wav samples

Thanks - I do own it,so no prob there, just learning how to use it w external wavs.
__________________
Geoff

www.merlotembargo.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2019, 11:04 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 248
Default Re: Best way to use wav samples

At thh top of the left browser just under the word 'Kontakt Player' are a few options, click on the second one called 'files' and it will bring up your local drives. Navigate to the folder the samples are in and when you double click on the sample it will load it into an instance in the Kontakt player, then just trigger it via a keyboard or putting midi notes in with the mouse. Obviously you can go a lot deeper as far as editing etc, but search youtube for some tutes as that would take forever to explain here.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2019, 03:51 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,561
Default Re: Best way to use wav samples

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
Kontakt is the easiest way imho, but of course you need to own it as the demo version times out after 30 minutes. Structure free plays samples but the workflow is horrible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdgross View Post
Thanks - I do own it,so no prob there, just learning how to use it w external wavs.
Another NI program if one has it is Battery 4. You can assign individual samples/loops/etc. to different cells. There's even a way to have a single cell change pitch according to a range of notes played on a music keyboard by setting keyboard tracking. I also have Kontakt and find it a bit challenging to properly use one's own samples/one shots/loops.

If you have UVI Falcon you can also put your own samples & loops into that as well.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 08-29-2019 at 09:50 AM. Reason: changed pitch trackinh to keyboard tracking
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2019, 08:10 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,056
Default Re: Best way to use wav samples

Well, as with everything in the digital audio world, there's no one "right" way to do anything! That said, here's another option to consider. For a long time I've used both AIR Structure and AIR Transfuser (the full versions of both) for playing samples. Transfuser is great for creating loops, or creating creative processing of audio and a whole host of other things for sample processing. Its pretty powerful, in my opinion. Structure (full version) is fairly easy for assigning samples across the keyboard and editing and processing from there. There's still some features I wish it had, such as an arpeggiator, for example. But over all, I've used it many times to create new patches from audio samples.



Anyway, that's my $0.02
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2019, 04:28 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,333
Default Re: Best way to use wav samples

Easiest way to get samples loaded into Kontakt quickly is to name the files you want to use numerically (from lowest note to highest note), then select them and drag them into the mapping editor. Do not release the mouse button, try dragging it around the black area of the mapping editor. You will see them extend across multiple notes or tighten up depending on where you move the mouse. Release the mouse in the best position and you will have a playable instrument. Once the files are mapped, you can also grab the edges of each sample individually and adjust mapping that way. You can save the instrument using the floppy disk (!) icon near the top of the screen.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free plug-in drum samples (which allow custom samples) mUSICMAKER3 Getting Started 9 01-30-2018 02:21 PM
Where are the samples weezamiah Virtual Instruments 3 01-18-2014 07:50 AM
Where to put samples tpann Pro Tools 10 3 03-18-2013 06:49 PM
better samples halfguard Virtual Instruments 3 04-01-2007 08:46 PM
samples astrorock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-21-2005 07:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com