Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #6081  
Old 01-26-2015, 04:37 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: First massive blunder avoided...

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainwrecktwostep View Post
So now I'm looking at an ASUS X99-A Socket 2011-V3. I think the 2011-3/2011-V3 are one and the same socket type from reading just now (like '2011-Version3 or something'). I think they are interchangeable terms for one and the same socket type.
2011 is not universally interchangeable. If you mean "v3" and "-3" and "version 3", then yes those terms are interchangeable. http://www.intel.com/support/process.../CS-034539.htm

But the i7-5820K you have chosen requires LGA2011v3, which means it will work fine with the Asus X-99-A.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6082  
Old 01-26-2015, 04:48 PM
trainwrecktwostep trainwrecktwostep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Etters
Posts: 35
Default RAM

Aha! Point well taken. I noticed the i7 5820K processor I want to get/can afford supports only up to 2133mHz RAM sets. But regarding the overclocking, this x99-A mobo will support up to 3200mHz on the RAM. I'll be limited by the processor. Gotta set a price limit somewhere, I guess! That RAM should be plenty for my purposes, though.
Reply With Quote
  #6083  
Old 01-26-2015, 05:18 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainwrecktwostep View Post
3200mHz
Quad channel RAM operating at 3.2 GHz? Holy mother of God.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6084  
Old 01-26-2015, 05:19 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Yeah imagine pairing that with an 18-core xeon. after you won the lottery lol.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #6085  
Old 01-26-2015, 09:44 PM
Rotundra Rotundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bakersfield CA
Posts: 59
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

FYI....Got a message that Directron out of Houston has the i7-5820 for 346.00 now until 2/6 promo code: OVRSTK, no shipping or tax, unless in TX I think. The x-99 is getting closer to a high end z-97 or x-79 system.
__________________
PT10 with sapphire 56, Ivory 2, into this build: Win7,
Gigaybyte EX-58udr3, Chip: i7/920 bloomfield retail, Ram: Corsair XMS3- 3 channel/6GB Latency 9-9-9-24, Power Supply: Corsair TX650w, Hard disks: (2) WD WD500 32 MB buffer BLACK, Case: Gigabyte GZ-x7 mid atx case with 2 big fans and a Sony dvd burner, Video: HIS Radeon HD 3870 512k GDDR4...Total cost of PC build on 12/2/2009: $1021.00, still kicking after 5 years of daily use.
Reply With Quote
  #6086  
Old 01-27-2015, 07:30 AM
trainwrecktwostep trainwrecktwostep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Etters
Posts: 35
Default Re: First massive blunder avoided...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
2011 is not universally interchangeable. If you mean "v3" and "-3" and "version 3", then yes those terms are interchangeable. http://www.intel.com/support/process.../CS-034539.htm

But the i7-5820K you have chosen requires LGA2011v3, which means it will work fine with the Asus X-99-A.
Thanks guys. Maybe I'll give this build a shot in a coupla weeks. Rotundra, that's 40-50 bucks less than I was seeing at Fry's. If they can't match it, I'll be on that like purple on a Tortex pick!
Reply With Quote
  #6087  
Old 01-27-2015, 01:10 PM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 304
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Hi,
I was planning on building a new studio-pc. i7 5820-something....
Then I saw in this thread that someone had really good experience with an upgrade from i7 950 to a i7 980x (I have i7 930)
I came across an used 980 here in Norway, witch has been in use for almost 4 years, overclocked to 4 GHz. The seller ask 180$ for it, with the original cooler.
The cooler is unused. He had in watercooling all the time.
Is it considered risky to buy an used cpu like this, or is this an good offer????

Rossi
__________________
RME UFX Presonus digimax FS Mindprint Envoice Sony DMX r100 Lots of mics LOTS of drums
Reply With Quote
  #6088  
Old 01-27-2015, 01:55 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi68 View Post
Is it considered risky to buy an used cpu like this, or is this an good offer???
It is risky to buy anything second-hand, especially computer parts. But the price is right.

Just so you know, his overclock doesn't matter. That is all done at the BIOS level, which depends on the motherboard. If you install this CPU in your computer, you will not benefit from any overclocking he has done on his computer. This just means that you should be eben more careful with this purchase because he has been operating the CPU off-spec.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6089  
Old 01-27-2015, 02:20 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,799
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi68 View Post
Hi,
I was planning on building a new studio-pc. i7 5820-something....
Then I saw in this thread that someone had really good experience with an upgrade from i7 950 to a i7 980x (I have i7 930)
I came across an used 980 here in Norway, witch has been in use for almost 4 years, overclocked to 4 GHz. The seller ask 180$ for it, with the original cooler.
The cooler is unused. He had in watercooling all the time.
Is it considered risky to buy an used cpu like this, or is this an good offer????

Rossi
Risky? Yes, but look at the seller's feedback. I just bought a used 980X myself and it works great Now my backup machine kicks ***** almost as well as my X79 rig
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6090  
Old 01-27-2015, 03:09 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,916
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

The 980X is still a very valid Pro Tools machine.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2416 02-19-2013 07:49 PM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 07:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 12:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com