Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 05-25-2000, 11:13 PM

Default Live Performances and the Digi001

Hello All,

I'm considering taking my Digi001 out onto the stage to assist my live performances. Whilst this may sound like an accident waiting to happen, the thought of eight audio tracks + MIDI sequencing of my synths is quite appealing (I don't own an ADAT).

Is anyone doing this? How have you coped with pounding subwoofers interacting with your hard drives? Do you feel it's reliable enough for live stage use?

I look forward to hearing your experiences...

Phil
Old 05-26-2000, 09:18 AM

Default Re: Live Performances and the Digi001

I'm no expert in the field of computers and live performance, but I think that 100% reliability is the most important concern. Digi 001 is a great system, but it can crash. Maybe using it for creating a cd you can perform with live, rather than lugging all the hardware to a gig would be a solution.
Old 05-26-2000, 01:06 PM

We used to run an Atari sequencer and a bunch of synths for some of the keyboard stuff. It never failed live.

However nowdays I think a dedicated sampler like E5000 or so, with a built in multitrack sequencer would do most of the job. (Need HD though). You can import midi in it or record stuff as you tour around. Even change verses and sticks ...

However, most synthersizers nowdays have SW operating systems as well so they are not totally fail safe either.

Pleas let us know how things work out.

Cheers,
// Joakim W

------------------
>>We need more time so that everything doesn't happen at once<<

Asus P5K Premium v3, Q6600, 2x2GB Corsair

Tyan Thunder n3600B (S2927A2NRF)
2xAMD OPTERON 2214 2.2GHZ

Win XP Pro SP3
Old 05-26-2000, 08:15 PM