Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2019, 02:03 PM
June Moris June Moris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 51
Default Mixing in the box

Hi,


I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section. I didn't think it would fit in Pro mixing.


I already have a loaded workstation,i7 with 32GB ram. I need a computer easy to carry to work on the go to do some mixing. I hope to buy something less expensive...however it's the plugins that use ram power...


And I'ld like to mix in the box using my fingers.



I see that the surface computers have 10-point multi-touch screens. Does this mean that mixing could be done using multiple fingers?

Surface is expensive but they have staff pad for writing w a pen





Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2019, 12:12 PM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 376
Default Re: Mixing in the box

I could be mistaken, but I don't think that Pro Tools is natively multi-touch. I think the Slate folks worked some magic to make the Raven work.

Randall


Quote:
Originally Posted by June Moris View Post
Hi,


I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section. I didn't think it would fit in Pro mixing.


I already have a loaded workstation,i7 with 32GB ram. I need a computer easy to carry to work on the go to do some mixing. I hope to buy something less expensive...however it's the plugins that use ram power...


And I'ld like to mix in the box using my fingers.



I see that the surface computers have 10-point multi-touch screens. Does this mean that mixing could be done using multiple fingers?

Surface is expensive but they have staff pad for writing w a pen





Thanks in advance
__________________
Randall Smith
Audio Editor/Mixer
Starz Entertainment Group
Denver, CO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2019, 01:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,610
Default Re: Mixing in the box

Nope. Get any laptop and maybe use a mouse or track ball, or consider carrying an Artist mix to go with it if you really need a surface on the move.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing Midi VS Mixing Audio (sound quality) DBK Getting Started 2 12-10-2014 01:04 PM
HELP! Mixing for TV Bangha Post - Surround - Video 11 09-11-2007 11:59 PM
Mixing for DVD compared to mixing for Broadcast Taddy Post - Surround - Video 8 09-05-2006 01:02 AM
Steps in pre-mixing and mixing: How do the pros do it? jfrank@rioting.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-29-2003 09:28 AM
Jackson’s Guide to Better Mixing through “Mixing” BigRedButton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-08-2003 08:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com