Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-29-2017, 02:35 PM

Default AVID: One change that would help us like you a lot more.

Dear AVID,

I have been a Pro Tools user for over 10 years since the Digidesign (branded) days. I really want to love you as a company, but the past 5-10 years have been rough. I really want to see things turn around for AVID, but it will be a long time before bridges have been rebuilt with some of your past, faithful customers.

The one HUGE thing that still really shows the lack of respect and trust from AVID is your reinstatement plan. Now don't get me wrong, I have 2 AVID licenses that are both current with the update plan. So this isn't a rant about me having to pay the reinstatement price.

Why are reinstatement plans so hurtful? Because it sends a message to your users that you'd better pay up every year or we are going to penalize you. Seriously?!? Is this really the relationship you want with your customers? I think this is why you constantly see so much bad blood floating around about AVID.

I'd bet that you would make tons more money if you got rid of the reinstatement plan? Why? Because it would make it so much easier for your customers to pay to get back on board with you. It would send the message out to your customers that you are going to make Pro Tools so amazing, that people won't want to go without an upgrade plan because they will miss out on some amazing upgrades. It shows that you are invested in listening to your customer base because if you don't, we both lose (not just the customer).