Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 11-30-2014, 09:00 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

This is exactly why we are still on P Tools 10HD 6. I have an HDX system that is sitting in a closet gathering dust because what it can do that my TDM system can't is only a small part of what we need to do business. Higher ADC and voice count can hardly trump the ability to track through and utilize pretty much any TDM plugin that I need or want to use. As upscaps has said, HDX was not an upgrade. It was clearly a downgrade as a result of it's negative effect on workflow choices. I would love to be able to move into the future with the latest and the greatest new software. It's just not feasible from a business and professional standpoint yet though.

Last edited by WernerF; 12-01-2014 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 11-30-2014, 09:37 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

If it was possible to code an AAX-DSP wrapper for 32bit TDM plugins it looks like someone could make quite a bit of $$$... Any clever folk out there? Or is it just absolutely not possible??
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 12-01-2014, 10:27 PM
Keith Moore Keith Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 361
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPA View Post
Hi folks. We're focusing right now on getting VCC and FG-X into AAX Native first, and then we have the Virtual Microphone System coming out.

After that, we'll have to revisit the AAX DSP conversation and figure out if the demand is high enough. It will be very expensive for us to do with all of our plugins and will take a considerable amount of time and manpower. Despite what you may have heard, there is not a little 'switch' we hit to turn AAX Native into AAX DSP.

I will also say that with my new Mac Pro (cylinder), I'm tracking at 64 buffers using a thunderbolt interface at 96khz, using VMR and some zero latency verbs and delays, and I have a 1.5ms roundtrip and the CPU is barely touched. Tracked 20 tracks of drums, and vox/guitar scratches without a hitch.

But again, it will revolve around customer demand and I have ruled nothing out.

Cheers,
Steven
Every time I hear about the difficulties of DSP coding I simply believe it to be true. But then I also wish the likes of FLUX, Softube, Sonnex and the other developers of AAX-DSP would chime in.
__________________
Pro Tools HDX 2018.1.0
Lynx Aurora 16
Ross Martin PCM4222
Ross Martin Super Beast
Apple Mac Pro 8 Core 2.66Ghz 16GB RAM
OSX 10.11.6
http://www.keith-moore.org
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:03 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,344
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

It is a wonder sometime how some have been able to code very efficiently and fast (as in coding them fast) AAX DSP plugins while others drag their feet or just run and hide saying they won't do it. Bigger team? Better understanding of the architecture? Help From Avid? I truly would love to know too. Of course some have a tad less plugins but still...
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:05 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,010
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
It is a wonder sometime how some have been able to code very efficiently and fast AAX DSP plugins while others drag their feet or just run and hide saying they won't do it. Bigger team? Better understanding of the architecture? Help From Avid? I truly would love to know too.

Yeah McDSP we're very quick at getting their AAX DSP plugs out as were Sonnox very interesting ??
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:23 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,344
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Yeah McDSP we're very quick at getting their AAX DSP plugs out as were Sonnox very interesting ??
And we know MCDSP isn't a big coding team either.. so...
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:28 AM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Yeah McDSP we're very quick at getting their AAX DSP plugs out as were Sonnox very interesting ??
sonnox took over a year and change after aax 64bit was announced. and not all of them came out at first. others came later. mcdsp is tied at the hip w/ pro tools. totally different than other developers.

we also have to factor in the resources and money it takes as developers have stated. some have it, some don't, some choose not to invest. if aax-dsp was a big money making market maybe things would be different. early adopters jumped on it based on faith. others waited to see if it makes sense for them. and they have chosen to pass so far.

as mentioned earlier. a 32bit tdm to 64bit aax-dsp bridge would be huge. however, i think there is a better chance of third party developers coding for waves dls linux/intel soungrid server.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:31 AM
Keith Moore Keith Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 361
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

I think it comes down to the old saying of quantity vs quality. There are more people using Native systems in bedrooms than DSP users in professional studios. I'm still holding hope that the DSP production will grow. I don't care about paying more for the same plug-in in DSP form. It was that way with TDM vs RTAS. And I am one of those that truly believes to hear a difference when switching certain plug-ins from DSP to Native.
__________________
Pro Tools HDX 2018.1.0
Lynx Aurora 16
Ross Martin PCM4222
Ross Martin Super Beast
Apple Mac Pro 8 Core 2.66Ghz 16GB RAM
OSX 10.11.6
http://www.keith-moore.org
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:35 AM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
It is a wonder sometime how some have been able to code very efficiently and fast (as in coding them fast) AAX DSP plugins while others drag their feet or just run and hide saying they won't do it. Bigger team? Better understanding of the architecture? Help From Avid? I truly would love to know too. Of course some have a tad less plugins but still...
let us not re-write history. sonnox took a long time. and the early aax-dsp plugins were awfully optimized not efficient. seemed like softube, plugin alliance, et al just did native on aax-dsp with little optimization just to be first. even avid's early aax-dsp was not optimized as well. with updates most have improved greatly.

making a business decision not to participate is not dragging their feet or running n hiding. seriously why not get some crowdfunding going from some aax-dsp customers to donate to these companies who choose not to spend their money n resources.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:39 AM
Keith Moore Keith Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 361
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by upscaps View Post
seriously why not get some crowdfunding going from some aax-dsp customers to donate to these companies who choose not to spend their money n resources.
I think if this were an option enough money could be raised. Especially if it were at the price of a free upgrade or something within the prize options of most crowd funding setups.
__________________
Pro Tools HDX 2018.1.0
Lynx Aurora 16
Ross Martin PCM4222
Ross Martin Super Beast
Apple Mac Pro 8 Core 2.66Ghz 16GB RAM
OSX 10.11.6
http://www.keith-moore.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slate digital vtm JLC AAX Plug-ins 8 01-20-2014 09:03 AM
Tracking with Slate Digital VCC Rosco1969 macOS 3 01-05-2014 04:14 AM
Slate Digital And UAD Where Are You ??? kimballob AAX Plug-ins 11 11-23-2013 10:41 PM
Slate Digital and Steven Slate Drums AAX DHL AAX Plug-ins 6 04-22-2013 12:50 PM
slate digital VCC appledude General Discussion 5 12-03-2011 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com