Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2015, 10:16 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default S-3 vs D-Command

Why would you buy an S3, when you can buy a D command used for roughly the same price. Actually a little less for the dark series, and a heck of a lot less for the blue series.

That is the question I'm faced with right now. The other thing that has to be considered, is to use the S3 with ProTools HD, you have to be on the HD support plan, otherwise you don't get any updates to the Eucon software.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2015, 12:54 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 239
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
The other thing that has to be considered, is to use the S3 with ProTools HD, you have to be on the HD support plan, otherwise you don't get any updates to the Eucon software.
where did you read that?

I had a hard time justifing the expense while having a nice ProControl collecting dust. If AVID keeps it's promise of adding features to the S3 it might justify the high price at some point.

but the size of the S3 vs. D-Command is unbeatable, EuCon softkeys are a great thing and VCA spill too.

If custom plugin mapping (or custom knobsets) are added the S3 beats the D-Command in my opinion...
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2015, 12:09 PM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 239
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
The S3 customers only need to be on a Pro Tools support plan to get the latest features and functionality.
damn it, I just read this myself...

That was not part of the deal when I bought my S3.

I hope it turns out to be a mistake...

But the good thing is, I'm registered to the free iPad app that gives me free EuCon updates so far...

I am confused...
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2015, 01:19 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,934
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by made View Post
damn it, I just read this myself...

That was not part of the deal when I bought my S3.

I hope it turns out to be a mistake...

But the good thing is, I'm registered to the free iPad app that gives me free EuCon updates so far...

I am confused...
You are going to need updated pro tools software to use new versions of eucon. So if you are signed up for the support plan, you will be stuck and the current eucon version and the current pro tools version .
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2015, 05:21 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 239
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
You are going to need updated pro tools software to use new versions of eucon
yeah, I get it, but it's a strange logic and a strange way of marketing.
Why open EuCon to other DAWs if you can only get the latest fixes of EuCon with a ProTools support plan... ???

No Cubase, Logic, DP, Nuendo user will ever buy an S3 if they would be forced into a ProTools support plan...

Avid should clarify this before it becomes a weird rumour.
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2015, 05:46 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,934
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by made View Post
yeah, I get it, but it's a strange logic and a strange way of marketing.
Why open EuCon to other DAWs if you can only get the latest fixes of EuCon with a ProTools support plan... ???

No Cubase, Logic, DP, Nuendo user will ever buy an S3 if they would be forced into a ProTools support plan...

Avid should clarify this before it becomes a weird rumour.
I don't think you need a pro tools support plan for nuendo/eucon updates. Just pro tools/eucon updates. Because when they add a feature to eucon, they need to change the code in pro tools to support that feature. So you will probably need to update nuendo at that time as well which will require you to pay Yamaha?
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2015, 02:42 PM
Artist PM's Avatar
Artist PM Artist PM is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 251
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
I don't think you need a pro tools support plan for nuendo/eucon updates. Just pro tools/eucon updates. Because when they add a feature to eucon, they need to change the code in pro tools to support that feature. So you will probably need to update nuendo at that time as well which will require you to pay Yamaha?
This is about as close to the truth as you can get.

With EuControl/Artist/S3, features are delivered in adapters. The Pro Tools adapter gets features first.

That's why there is an advantage to being on the latest version of Pro Tools when you have an EuControl/Artist/S3 surface, the latest version of Pro Tools will have the latest adapter.

3P's can implement features after Pro Tools does, when we make them available in the public SDK. It's a priority to us to implement the latest features. 3P's are variably incentivized to implement SDK features, so if control surface integration is important to you, the latest version of Pro Tools is the best solution. If you use new EuControl software with old adapters, your mileage may vary.

S6 is a separate technology base and delivery target for features.
A lot of features are S6 specific, and are not realized in EuControl surfaces.

It’s above and beyond what EUCON in the EuControl world does, and takes substantial development.

If you use old S6 software with new DAW adapters, your mileage may vary, you won’t have access to the latest development on both sides.
So there is a definite advantage to being on Pro Tools and S6 support plans.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2015, 02:57 PM
Artist PM's Avatar
Artist PM Artist PM is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 251
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
The other thing that has to be considered, is to use the S3 with ProTools HD, you have to be on the HD support plan, otherwise you don't get any updates to the Eucon software.
This is partly true.

EuControl and EUCON in the Artist/S3 world are conduits for features delivered by adapters.

You pay for access to adapters when you buy the control surface.

Features in adapters will vary based on a DAW vendors' commitment to development. It is a priority for Avid, so the latest features will always be in the latest version of Pro Tools.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:22 AM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artist PM View Post
This is partly true.

EuControl and EUCON in the Artist/S3 world are conduits for features delivered by adapters.

You pay for access to adapters when you buy the control surface.

Features in adapters will vary based on a DAW vendors' commitment to development. It is a priority for Avid, so the latest features will always be in the latest version of Pro Tools.

JC
Today I go buy a $5000 S3. I buy to use with my current version of ProTools HD 11. I never had any intentions whatsoever of joining any support plan in the future. So I will not get any updates to my S3 to be used with ProTools 11 going forward, after the day I buy it?
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2015, 02:55 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: S-3 vs D-Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Today I go buy a $5000 S3. I buy to use with my current version of ProTools HD 11. I never had any intentions whatsoever of joining any support plan in the future. So I will not get any updates to my S3 to be used with ProTools 11 going forward, after the day I buy it?
C C C C C C C Crickets.........
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any difference besides color between D Command and D Command ES? diamondschwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-12-2012 12:15 PM
D Command PT9 Bug hitp ICON & C|24 1 12-08-2010 09:20 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 05:49 AM
Is it possible to use a Command 8 in combination with a D-Command? usastra ICON & C|24 2 05-03-2009 01:44 PM
Total Loss of Command 8 Command/Modifiers John Pisciotta ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 05-13-2005 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com