Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2015, 01:34 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,291
Default Thanks Avid!

Like the app. First couple of hours, it works pretty well. Lots of ideas about what to add (BIG soft key mode?). But nice thing to have.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2015, 01:49 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,892
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

It needs an offline demo mode also.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2015, 06:17 PM
Artist PM's Avatar
Artist PM Artist PM is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 251
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

Go ahead and start a conversation about what you like and what we can improve. We are listening.

This first app is what we consider a minimum viable product. We plan to add features and functionality over time as we learn from you.

Also feel free to post on Ideascale and get votes.

Now that Pro Tools | Control is out we are in part prioritizing future EuControl releases based on Ideascale feedback...direct to backlog.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2015, 10:16 PM
nickspradlin nickspradlin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: KC, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

+1 for a full-screen softkey mode!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2015, 05:09 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 812
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

It should work with an Artist Control
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2020, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2015, 07:55 AM
Artist PM's Avatar
Artist PM Artist PM is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 251
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
It should work with an Artist Control
EUCON was designed for one control unit.

Remember, Artist Series shipped in 2007. The only competition was the Mackie Control, and we followed the design paradigm of one master and multiple peripheral products, albeit a step up as the peripherals can operate as independent units.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2015, 01:17 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

JC,

I have another post in the PT 12 forum where I do a loose review/comparison to V-Control. Surely, PTC, is a step in the right direction. The one thing I was surprised not to see was the ability to easily create a new Playlist.

This is a feature that is also missing from V-Control, and would be a game changer for me. As a producer and singer/songwriter, I find myself in the artist seat and these controllers are ideal. The only issue is the inability to quickly create a new playlist to maintain the session vibe when working solo. Also, accurate metering with DBFS displayed would be helpful when getting sounds for drums.

I had some issues with Eucon disconnecting after the system was idle for a bit, but I haven't done further testing to confirm its consistency.

Cheers
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors

Last edited by dr_daw; 08-11-2015 at 01:19 PM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2015, 01:29 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,291
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

Quote:
The one thing I was surprised not to see was the ability to easily create a new Playlist.
They're not perfect, but an Apple Wireless keyboard will let you hit ctrl-slash+return to do that. Bluetooth goes remarkably far.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2015, 01:43 PM
Artist PM's Avatar
Artist PM Artist PM is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 251
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
They're not perfect, but an Apple Wireless keyboard will let you hit ctrl-slash+return to do that. Bluetooth goes remarkably far.
You could also create a command in EuControl for that on one of the Pro Tools | Control soft keys.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2015, 01:47 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Thanks Avid!

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
They're not perfect, but an Apple Wireless keyboard will let you hit ctrl-slash+return to do that. Bluetooth goes remarkably far.
Oh man...all this time that was the shortcut!!! Shoot! I used a wireless keyboard until I got V-Control so that I could do other things.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Artist PM View Post
You could also create a command in EuControl for that on one of the Pro Tools | Control soft keys.
Maybe I'll give it another shot tonight.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Avid HEAT run in PTHD 10/11 without an Avid Audio Interface or HDX Card? hatepop Pro Tools 11 1 12-19-2013 01:26 AM
Unable to locate Avid hardware. Avid Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 (M-Audio KeyStudio 49) azndisast3r Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-21-2013 02:31 PM
FS: (EU) Avid HD3 PCIE , 2x Apogee DA16X + X-HD, Avid Digilink & AES/EBU Cables Eduardo Apolonia Buy & Sell 12 03-20-2013 04:42 PM
Will (Avid/M-Audio) Pro Tools MP 9 support Avid Vocal Studio: Producer USB Microphone XDosShane Windows 0 02-04-2012 09:17 PM
New Avid Brand Identity, Product Announcements and an updated Avid.com Avid General Announcements 0 04-20-2009 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com