Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2018, 06:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,965
Default Anybody running HD/Native and HP Z820?

Giving this workstation a hard look as I can't get reliable performance from current i7 system. Curious if anyone has some hands-on experience?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2018, 09:18 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,343
Default Re: Anybody running HD/Native and HP Z820?

This one Dave?

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03271150

It doesn't say which CPU....

This one says E5-2600 v2 series.

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03270729#AbT4


this CPU seems pretty stout....especially when you consider 2 of them...... E5-2697 v2

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php....70GHz&id=2009 / 24 cores

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2018, 11:08 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,965
Default Re: Anybody running HD/Native and HP Z820?

Yes, I can get a used tower with dual 6-core at 3.5GHz and 64GB of RAM for around $1200. Hate to retire an almost new system, but if I can't get work done..........
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2018, 02:07 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Anybody running HD/Native and HP Z820?

I'm have an HP z840 using a digi 003 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 and its smooth as butter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Native Card 11.3 OS 10.10.1 running RamblerSound Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 01-05-2015 02:57 PM
Who is Running PT 11 HD Native successfully K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 17 09-27-2013 12:02 PM
Running DSP and Native Plug-ins on same track BCA Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 07-30-2012 11:23 PM
who is running HD Native .. K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 12-17-2010 11:36 PM
PT HD9 (running native with motu) running out of memory syMPh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-21-2010 07:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com