Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-15-2015, 10:47 AM

Default Audient id14 Interface & Great River Pre-amp i/o

I am new to Pro Tools. I just purchased an Audient id14 interface and Great River Pre-amp, and need help routing the inputs and outputs within Pro Tools 11. I have an XLR going out of the Preamp into the 2nd line input of my interface via TRS. I also have my two monitors in the two outputs of my interface.
Old 12-15-2015, 10:54 AM

Default Re: Audient id14 Interface & Great River Pre-amp i/o

Sounds like the physical routing is set up correctly. What issues are you running into within Pro Tools?
Old 12-15-2015, 01:42 PM

I cannot record using my microphone and preamp. I can play audio through my studio monitors though. The interface is defintely detected in Pro Tools. I attached screenshots of my i/o screen & my track that I want to record on, maybe that will help.
Old 12-15-2015, 02:08 PM

Debug one thing at a time. The Audient has it's own mic preamps. Have you been able to record with those? In the same physical input channel you are trying the preamp in. With the same mic and cable? Same Pro Tools Session?

If that works then the problem is likely all in the preamp or wiring to the interface.

What mic are you using? Phantom power on if it is a condenser?

Is the the track record armed? How experienced with Pro Tools are you?

Do the LEDs move on the preamp? Meters move in that channel in Pro Tools? (but nothign appearing on the track?) If you zoom in on the track is something recorded that you just can't hear/monitor when tracking? If you turn preamp gain all the way up do you record/monitor a hiss or similar noise?

What exact model preamp do you have?