Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2008, 07:17 AM
mozart mozart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 289
Default Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

I'm thinking of picking up one of those. I see price is almost double for the TDM Version. Is it worth it?
What are the advantages of the TDM over Native, particular for this plug in?
Anybody used them both, or have them both on the same machine?
__________________
Pro Tools 11.2 HDX

Apogee Symphony I/O 32analog I/O
192 I/O (old) Digital

Hack pro i7 Six Core/ 32 RAM


Kostadin Kamcev - Mozart
www.mozartstudio.com
Clifton, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 14,905
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

It's a great plug if you're looking for a clean and transparent reverb that is highly customizable. TDM version naturally has dramatically lower latency so in my book the extra cost is worth it.

That said; I don't use it as much as for example TC VSS3 or Eventide Reverb, but it's still nice to have it available.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:20 AM
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

Is Latency really an issue with reverb?

I use Waves IR-1 which is only RTAS and it works fine for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2008, 11:16 AM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 529
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

RTAS plugs don't have more latency than the TDM versions.
The problem happens when you use them in aux/master channels (or in audio tracks after a tdm plug) because of the streaming from the tdm environment to the cpu and back to the tdm. Therefore in this case the latency depends of how is set the HW buffer in the audio engine. If you set the HW buffer at 256 samples you wll have 512 samples of latency (plus some samples introduced by the plugin itself) that can be well compensated by the ADC set at medium size (1023 samples) but if are running on an old G5 and you want more performance for VI you probably have to set the HW buffer at least at 512. In this case you will have 1024 samples of latency only for the streamings (plus the plugin samples) and especially if you need more comp for inserting other plugs in the chain you will run out of the compensation (medium). You will have to set a higher setting for the ADC that eats more DSPs.
I hope this helps
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 10.3.10 on OSX 10.9.5 - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2008, 11:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 14,905
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

It is only a problem when you do LIVE projects (or have to provide a monitor mix via PT). Generally artists don't accept +10ms latency, so that means 44.1kHz session latency "glass ceiling" would be 440 samples.

Okay, 256 buffer setting is workable. But it's rather close to the limit. I'd rather take TDM-only session that has effectively "zero" latency.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2008, 08:20 PM
preachers preachers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: beijing
Posts: 49
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

hi everyone, i got a problem in useing RTAS plugins at aux channel.

my delay compensation setting was long (4095),but when the dly count exceed about 3000samples at the aux channel, the charactor will trun red, what's happened in my aux channel???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:22 AM
peter99 peter99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

I have problems with TL space in rtas mode on a aux channel

if I use it in rtas mode I can hear a pre delay I dont hear if I use it in TDM - of course ADC is on in 4096 mode

any idea how I can fix this? anyone using TL space in rtas mode without any problems on a HD rig?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2008, 04:09 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,178
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by preachers View Post
hi everyone, i got a problem in useing RTAS plugins at aux channel.

my delay compensation setting was long (4095),but when the dly count exceed about 3000samples at the aux channel, the charactor will trun red, what's happened in my aux channel???
Welcome to the DUC, Preacher.

Instead of the traditional bottle of wine, or tuna casserole (yikes!) allow me to offer two bits of advice, which hopefully will ensure your enjoyment and satisfaction as a DUC member for years to come.

Cross-posting (in various DUC fori) and/or multiple posts about the same question/topic is generally frowned upon. The folks around here are generally very helpful and eager to lend a hand (as I’m sure you’ve discovere by now, since you’ve already received two answers).

Along the same lines, highjacking a thread by changing the subject to something other than what the original writer intended is also considered bad form.

IHTH.

__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-08-2008, 08:54 PM
preachers preachers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: beijing
Posts: 49
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre Knecht View Post
Welcome to the DUC, Preacher.

Instead of the traditional bottle of wine, or tuna casserole (yikes!) allow me to offer two bits of advice, which hopefully will ensure your enjoyment and satisfaction as a DUC member for years to come.

Cross-posting (in various DUC fori) and/or multiple posts about the same question/topic is generally frowned upon. The folks around here are generally very helpful and eager to lend a hand (as I’m sure you’ve discovere by now, since you’ve already received two answers).

Along the same lines, highjacking a thread by changing the subject to something other than what the original writer intended is also considered bad form.

IHTH.
as you know, i'm new in DUC, thank you for your prompt, i'll never do that~~
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:41 PM
Eric Spaceship Eric Spaceship is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sonnox Oxford Reverb Native VS TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter99 View Post
I have problems with TL space in rtas mode on a aux channel

if I use it in rtas mode I can hear a pre delay I dont hear if I use it in TDM - of course ADC is on in 4096 mode

any idea how I can fix this? anyone using TL space in rtas mode without any problems on a HD rig?

thx
What does the delay compensation stats at the bottom of the Aux report? What is your playback buffer size set to?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Sonnox Oxford Limiter Oliver M Buy & Sell 0 06-08-2012 01:54 PM
Sonnox sony oxford elite native vst bundle - need rtas instead grill229 Pro Tools 9 Discussion 4 04-11-2011 05:45 AM
Sonnox Oxford orpheus_2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-04-2010 08:54 AM
Sonnox Oxford EQ GML Option or MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ Keith Moore Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 06-12-2009 02:42 PM
Sonnox Oxford Plugins only in stereo track, why? siga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-13-2007 05:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com