Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2014, 01:08 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 294
Default mac pro 2014 8 core or 12 core

Sorry
Posting this again, , posted it previously in the PT 11 software forum.

HI
I would like to know if you have any advice regarding a Mac pro upgrade with PT 11. Im currently on a 2011 machine with Protools 10 HD 3. Im buying a new mac pro for PT11 only and would like to get some advice re the new 2014 Mac pro. 12 Core with 64 GB ram, or will the 8 core with 64 GB ram be more than enough. I do runs quite a bit of VI's and currently use vienna, but would like to do everything in PT.
Any advice, ? will the 12 core machine be $1500 more powerfull and stable, or wastin money?
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 1
PT Latest
2014 Mac Pro 12 Core
64 GB Ram
Lots of Thuderbolt Drives
www.produce.co.za
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2014, 02:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,897
Default Re: mac pro 2014 8 core or 12 core

Until optimized, the 6-core is just as fast as top-of-the-line fully loaded MBP
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2014, 02:21 AM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: mac pro 2014 8 core or 12 core

all your answers are here

; http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=351054
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2014, 05:51 AM
Nate Hoffman Nate Hoffman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 252
Default Re: mac pro 2014 8 core or 12 core

I wouldn't go with the 12 core if I were you. You would be taking a performance hit in single-threaded tasks. I have the 6 core and it's amazing. The price jump for the 8 core didn't make sense for me, but if the money isn't an issue for you, the 8 core would give you the best overall performance.
__________________
Nate Hoffman
www.blufirestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2014, 01:58 AM
Denis357 Denis357 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: dfdsdfd
Posts: 4
Default Re: mac pro 2014 8 core or 12 core

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...pple-Computers

Pro tools hd / 10/11 support 8 core ??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Mac Mini Core i7 2GHz QUAD CORE - 4GB RAM - 2 x 500GB gsilbers Buy & Sell 3 05-18-2013 05:17 PM
HDX-2 on (slightly revised) 12-core 2 x 2.4GHz 6-core Intel? / RTAS in PT10HD MixerGuy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 06-18-2012 07:10 AM
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com