Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2020, 11:42 AM
NewHere NewHere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 12
Default New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

Hey,


I build a brand new machine and Pro Tools is telling me randomly that my disk is too slow (AAE -9073) and stops playback, or doesn't even start to play. I doubt that it's too slow, here are the specs:


Win10 Pro
Asus Prime X470 Pro
Ryzen 3700X
16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600MHz
500GB Samsung 960 Evo Plus NVMe (System)
1TB Samsung 860 QVO (sessions and audio files)


A few minutes ago I bought a one year Pro Tools subscrition, so I hope there is a solution. System usage window says something around 15-20% CPU load and like 3% disk usage IF it's running.


EDIT: A few moments after I posted the above PT didn't respond at all so I waited for it's recovery. I then tried to turn off an old external 1TB USB2 HDD and PT immediately recovered and I've been able to play the session like normal again. But just now I got AAE 121 with no description whatsoever... HELP!

EDIT2: Nope... still AAE -9073, even without the USB2 Drive.

Last edited by NewHere; 03-19-2020 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2020, 03:27 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,907
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

I'm not overly familiar with the QVO drives, but what I read didnt raise any red flags.

I'm running a Ryzen 5 2600 without issues,

Have you gone through the Optimization Guide: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en367983 specifically any power save options..
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2020, 04:36 PM
NewHere NewHere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 12
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

Thanks for the link Joel!

Everything is up to date, this is the first session I opened, that’s how fresh the install is. I optimized the usual stuff (background tasks, no disk compression etc), but to be honest I never ever touched the BIOS power save options on any machine and it always worked fine. Exactly this session ran two days ago on an i5 2500k from 2011 non-optimized, and a slow and old 2TB WD Green without issues. I guess all the tweaks will give you a few more percent headroom but this is some odd error. Sometimes the error message even pops up multiple times in a row without me doing anything. Can you tell me what exactly triggers the error message? Obviously the drive is not the problem, so what could it be?

By the way: did you disable Hyperthreading (or whatever AMD calls it) on your 2600?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2020, 06:24 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,907
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

Definitly didnt disable SMT (AMD version of Hyper Threading) on my setup. I'd also make sure to install the latest AMD drivers for all the motherboard chipset: https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...ocket-am4/x470

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2020, 07:37 AM
NewHere NewHere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 12
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

I already installed the latest chipset drivers, but thanks though, I only found out by accident that you have to get them directly from AMD and not your MoBo vendor.

I dropped the same audio tracks into a new, blank session and was able to play through it multiple times without any errors. Is it possible that this error gets triggered by plugins? Is there maybe an error log somewhere that shows what caused the error?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2020, 03:25 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,907
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

Plugins can absolutely cause some errors. It's tempting to install every plugin that comes your way, but if you don't use it, it might be best to move them to the "unused" folder so they don't get loaded with Pro Tools. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...older-location

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2020, 04:21 AM
NewHere NewHere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 12
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

Thanks again Joel!

I‘ve found the cause for the error - me (I am relieved and not surprised)

First time I opened the session I let Pro Tools auto-search for the audio files and in my absolute brilliance didn’t disconnect an external SSD with a session backup on it. Pro Tools then linked half the files to that external drive.

What still puzzles me is why only half the files where linked to the external drive and why a USB 3 drive is supposedly too slow to play around 40 tracks?
Also my first guess has been that something went wrong with the linking, but according to „Disk Allocation“ every file was linked to a folder on my internal D: drive. Strange...
Only because I detached the USB drive and half the session went offline I found out about it.

First steps in a new DAW, always a rollercoaster
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:09 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,907
Default Re: New machine - disk too slow (-9073)

Oh my, that would definitly be a mess!

Glad you got it sorted though,
Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error -9073 - Disk too slow JshRynWrd Pro Tools 11 10 03-22-2014 05:15 PM
disk too slow or fragmented error (-9073) Studio20 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 12-31-2012 03:42 PM
Disk Too Slow -9073 SimonMiminis macOS 0 04-10-2012 09:08 AM
Dae error -9073 disk too slow problem gonzalo.garcia macOS 12 04-08-2012 07:05 AM
DAE -9073 Disk to slow or fragmented DEA Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-04-2003 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com