Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2002, 02:04 AM
Big Koo Big Koo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mpls,Mn
Posts: 133
Default Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

Does anyone have one if so how does it sound.
__________________
Up and coming producer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2002, 07:25 AM
Mark Staples Mark Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 223
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

I own the Digimax 96 and it sound pretty good. I bought it over the LT because of the limiters. I use them when tracking drums especially and it helps out a whole lot.
__________________
Mark Staples
Hearts of Fire Productions
email: mark@heartsoffireproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2002, 07:31 AM
J. FO J. FO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 502
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

the difference is that you get limiters and i believe eq per channel. with the LT you just get the pre's and the a/d. if you have the extra money, get the 96k. it won't hurt you.
__________________
Jeremy Forbis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2002, 02:09 PM
Big Koo Big Koo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mpls,Mn
Posts: 133
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

How many 1/4 inch inline inputs does it have.
__________________
Up and coming producer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2002, 02:40 PM
Mark Staples Mark Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 223
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

There isn't EQ, but it has a button that attenuates the mid-range to smooth out the signal. I've used it some, but for the most part, don't.

It has 2 DI inputs on the front.
__________________
Mark Staples
Hearts of Fire Productions
email: mark@heartsoffireproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2002, 10:36 PM
Big Koo Big Koo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mpls,Mn
Posts: 133
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

Thanx Mark.
__________________
Up and coming producer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2002, 12:26 AM
J. FO J. FO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 502
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

it does have the 2 di's on the front, but i believe all channels will accept a 1/4" cable thanks to those fancy combo jacks.
__________________
Jeremy Forbis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2002, 07:33 AM
j old school j old school is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 567
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

I'm saving up for one or maybe an octopre. It seems that for the price of the LT, you can get a used digimax on ebay. Even if it's not 96K, I believe that the original digimax's can be upgraded to 96k - can anyone verify this?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2002, 07:57 AM
Mark Staples Mark Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 223
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

The Digimax does not have the ability to use 1/4". It uses standard XLR.

From their website:

Input
Number of Channels Eight
Input Impedance, XLR Input 1.3k Ohms
Input Impedance, 1/4" Instrument Input 1M Ohms
Connectors Eight XLR, Two 1/4" Instrument Inputs on Channel One and Two

I "believe" that the system can be upgraded to 96K, but not sure. Send them an email message. They are VERY responsive.

Here is their website and email address of the support manager. He'll usually respond within 24-hours (holidays and weekends excluded).

Digimax 96K

Chad Kelly - Customer Support Manager
800-750-0323 *116
cdkelly@presonus.com

Have a good New Year!
__________________
Mark Staples
Hearts of Fire Productions
email: mark@heartsoffireproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2002, 07:59 AM
Mark Staples Mark Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 223
Default Re: Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt

Clarification:

As mentioned in the earlier post, it has two Hi-Z 1/4" inputs on the front. I was addressing the post about having the fancy connectors that do both. The Digimax does not have those in the back - just XLR.
__________________
Mark Staples
Hearts of Fire Productions
email: mark@heartsoffireproductions.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digimax LT Dogcode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 02-21-2005 12:17 PM
Digimax LT - 002 - help drasmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-18-2004 07:37 PM
Digimax LT & 001 atrest 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-23-2004 11:00 AM
DIGIMAX LE ANYONE TRIED ONE ? CHATZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-20-2003 11:41 PM
digimax Dead River Studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 02-15-2001 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com