Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2001, 07:50 PM
Dead River Studio Dead River Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Boston, USA
Posts: 330
Default digimax

Anyone using the digimax by presonus? I read some good reviews about that unit (what else is new right). This article was especially favorable on drum recording.

My question is, or hang up is, the unit doesn't have inserts. I have the presonus ACP88 compressor which would seem to be the perfect compliment to the digimax but there's not inserts and if your getting it to take advantage of the opticle out then your hosed, but it does have musical limiters on each channel, I just am not familiar with how those work, are they like a compressor.
Any user out there?

Steve
__________________
My studio... http://www.deadriverstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2001, 07:06 PM
cnelson87 cnelson87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 47
Default Re: digimax

just bumping this up.

enquiring minds want to know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2001, 06:56 PM
Dead River Studio Dead River Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Boston, USA
Posts: 330
Default Re: digimax

dito...any users of this product want to comment?
__________________
My studio... http://www.deadriverstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2001, 08:32 PM
Flying Disc Flying Disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Posts: 33
Default Re: digimax

Guys,

I thought I saw this post a few weeks ago. Well, I do own a DigiMax by Presonus. This item is fantastic.

8 mic pre's & Great AD Converters. I actually did notice an instant different between the 001 converters & mic pres.

Come download a quick sample of the work. Very true sounding.

www.theflyingdisc.com
__________________
www.theflyingdisc.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2001, 10:48 PM
blake eat world blake eat world is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, OR, US
Posts: 335
Default Re: digimax

i want to get one. check out the part on the presonus website that talks about how filter used it for tracking drums straight to pro tools on their upcoming album
__________________
www.clarityrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2001, 10:51 PM
blake eat world blake eat world is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, OR, US
Posts: 335
Default Re: digimax

i want to get one. check out the part on the presonus website that talks about how filter used it for tracking drums straight to pro tools on their upcoming album
__________________
www.clarityrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2001, 08:09 AM
AEW AEW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 879
Default Re: digimax

FLY
How good are the converters on the Max, say compared with those on the Digi?

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2001, 02:17 PM
Flying Disc Flying Disc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Posts: 33
Default Re: digimax

To be honest, I'm not sure if its the converters or the mic pres on the Max, but the combination of the two is significantly better. No joke, as soon as I got the unit I plugged a mic into it and just started talking and recording. I then compared it to the 001's mic pres and was quite surprised.

This really is a solid unit.

My favorite features are the DUAL domain limiters (analogue and look-ahead digital limiter combined) which has made a HUGE difference in the apparent 'loudness' of my work.
I also enjoy the EQ enhancement which I've used on occassion to give more bottom on the kick and more top on the overheads. I've also used the EQ on vocals to give more of a radio voice for those who were lacking it naturally.

***IF you are serious about puchasing the unit CONTACT ME. I've been setup as a dealer and my prices are unbeatable! I paid only $1600 CDN which is about $1200 USD. I'm pretty sure they regularily go for nearly twice that from a store front. Keep it in mind.

FLY
www.theflyingdisc.com
__________________
www.theflyingdisc.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2001, 02:21 PM
blake eat world blake eat world is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, OR, US
Posts: 335
Default Re: digimax

actually it's selling for about $1199.95 at a lot of places
__________________
www.clarityrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2001, 02:38 PM
blake eat world blake eat world is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, OR, US
Posts: 335
Default Re: digimax

and the fact that you're selling it disappoints me due to your biased opinions
__________________
www.clarityrecords.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digimax LT Dogcode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 02-21-2005 12:17 PM
Digimax LT - 002 - help drasmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-18-2004 07:37 PM
Digimax LT & 001 atrest 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-23-2004 11:00 AM
DIGIMAX LE ANYONE TRIED ONE ? CHATZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-20-2003 11:41 PM
Digimax 96k or the Digimax lt Big Koo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-03-2003 10:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com