Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2017, 06:35 AM
Wawili_Sound Wawili_Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 233
Default side chain volume attenuation

Hi

I am looking for a plugin that can take a side chain to attenuate volume. Example t.v show > talent talks > music volume is attenuated (ducking). I am looking for a simple way of doing this, I have tried wave rider but looking for something very simple and effect I want to avoid the pumping effect when side chaining a compressor to do ducking.
__________________
WIN10 12.6 HD Native, Omni, BlackLion XB192
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2017, 09:23 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,525
Default Re: side chain volume attenuation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wawili_Sound View Post
Hi

I am looking for a plugin that can take a side chain to attenuate volume. Example t.v show > talent talks > music volume is attenuated (ducking). I am looking for a simple way of doing this, I have tried wave rider but looking for something very simple and effect I want to avoid the pumping effect when side chaining a compressor to do ducking.
The reason you're getting pumping is attack and release times need to be changed on the compressor (and don't forget the threshold level as well).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2017, 08:13 PM
Wawili_Sound Wawili_Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 233
Default Re: side chain volume attenuation

Hi

Thanks for the reply, yeah I got that happening.
__________________
WIN10 12.6 HD Native, Omni, BlackLion XB192
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Side chain key source bug? Denny Jagard VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 07-17-2013 05:57 PM
Is it possible to side-chain an EQ? Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-03-2009 06:00 PM
How do I set up a Side Chain junglelabs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-30-2007 10:49 PM
Side Chain ByPass Tips & Tricks 1 05-08-2007 12:33 PM
A better way to side chain? studiojb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-24-2007 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com