Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2015, 11:02 AM
RenoPowers RenoPowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Default Understanding licensing for older versions.

I can't explain how clueless I am about this. And I'm sure it's all been discussed before, but after some internet searching, I haven't figured it out. I'm also crossing streams with Mac and Windows a little, so I'm sorry.
Feel free to point me at older threads or run me off if I'm too far out of bounds here.

My question... is there a version of PT that I can download for my windows 8 box, which would use the Digi 002 and/or 003 hardware device as the license?

Some back story... I have been given two older Mac G4s and a Digi 002, PT's 6.1 disks for Windows and Mac. I suspect the Digi 002 isn't working, so I've also borrowed a Digi 003 to confirm that. One of the Mac's may not be working either...so that's like a double negative in my testing.
There's a longer story about why I'm working on this older hardware, but it's not completely relevant. Suffice it to say, I'm trying to help a friend and learn some Mac and PTs stuff at the same time.

What I understand about PT 6.1 is the license for the software is the Digi 002 being attached. I'm assuming the Digi 003 would also work as the license/hardware dongle if I could get it to work. I'm assuming this is the same for Mac and Windows.

I'm struggling with troubleshooting on the Mac (for various reasons) so I'd like to move to my Windows platform to test.
The PT 6.1 disk for Windows won't install, says it requires XP and fails out. Makes sense ... 6.1 is much older software.

So I'm trying to determine if there is a version of PT that I can download for my windows 8 box, which would use the Digi 002 and/or 003 hardware device as the license?

Appreciate the help and I'm here for follow up questions or clarification if needed.

-r
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2015, 11:23 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Understanding licensing for older versions.

in short: no
8.0.5 might work, but it's a total PITA to install
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2015, 01:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,813
Default Re: Understanding licensing for older versions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
in short: no
8.0.5 might work, but it's a total PITA to install
I wouldn't call it that bad, but it will be a crap shoot
Here's the method if you're game for trying:

Step 1-with everything turned OFF, connect the 002 and leave it powered OFF.

Step 2-have both the 8.0.3 installer AND the 8.0.5 updater on your machine(I would put the files on the desktop for this)

Step 3-open the installer and right-click and choose Run as Administrator. When it asks you to connect the interface, DON'T. Just click Okay, let it finish and reboot.

Step 4-run the 8.0.5 updater, and again, use the Run as admin option. When the updater asks you to connect the interface, power the 002 on, wait for an 8 count, click Okay, let it finish and reboot again

Step 5-before running PT, right-click on the PT icon and select Properties. Find these 2 options and check them both:
Always Run as admin
Disable Desktop Composition

Step 6-open Pro Tools and have your authorization code handy(the one that starts with "DIGI08......").

Last thoughts; with all versions of LE, the hardware is the "dongle" but you must have an authorization code for the first run of any install. With PC, you MUST have a compatible FW controller by TI(Texas Instruments) as a VIA chip may not work. NEVER hot-patch 002 or 003 FW cables as that can fry the circuit in the interface, the PC or both. Pro Tools on PC can work great, or not, depending on several hardware items such as the chipset, the CPU or the graphics card.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2015, 02:10 PM
RenoPowers RenoPowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Default Re: Understanding licensing for older versions.

Thanks guys.

All of this has kind of this has kind of been a PITA. But I'll see where I can get with it.

-r
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2015, 07:37 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Understanding licensing for older versions.

Using 8.0.5 on Win 8.1 pro with an Mbox 2, as a backup to my backup rig, and it works pretty well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older PT versions and OS X 10.9 digitalpan macOS 1 03-13-2015 01:43 PM
older prottols versions bighub Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-20-2014 02:48 PM
Question about an older Mac Pro and possible older versions of Pro Tools HD wolfman_rob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 07-21-2013 01:29 AM
correct understanding of the PT licensing agreemen phaseout 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-25-2005 04:51 PM
Older versions available? adhali Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 11-30-2003 11:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com