Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2014, 02:07 AM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

Yeah Im still in the dark ages with 8. Just wondering if PT11 users have noticed a significant difference in performance from RTAS ie...number of tracks and more ram? Im having trouble exceeding 11 audio and 10 inst tracks without the DAE 7225 error, and crashing. Thinking of buying 11 this week just wanted to confirm whether it would improve anything.

At the moment I only get access to 4G ram yet Ive got 32. It seem logical to upgrade and from what Ive read but does it work in practice?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2014, 03:37 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

PT11 is AAX. No more RTAS. Need more information on your computer.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2014, 04:53 AM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 235
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

I have definitely noticed a performance bump with 11. I really like the dynamic plugin processing. Also, if you tend to work with a lot of instrument tracks-- having offline bounce available is very nice to manage processing power.

The real question you should ask though is whether or not it's worth the upgrade price of PT11, plus whatever it may cost you to upgrade your instruments and plugins to aax64. Between my plugins and instruments, it cost me around $400 to get everything updated. Which is probably a drop in the bucket compared to many folks. Also, if you're on Windows, look closely at which plugins have gone aax64-- some manufacturers haven't yet and some only have aax64 for Mac...

That said, I love PT11 and I'm happy I spent the money. Big changes from PT8 will also be integrated fades, Clip gain, New metering options--all very useful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2014, 11:12 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

Quote:
The real question you should ask though is whether or not it's worth the upgrade price of PT11, plus whatever it may cost you to upgrade your instruments and plugins to aax64. Between my plugins and instruments, it cost me around $400 to get everything updated. Which is probably a drop in the bucket compared to many folks. Also, if you're on Windows, look closely at which plugins have gone aax64-- some manufacturers haven't yet and some only have aax64 for Mac...
That $400 you paid would have been an upgrade from 10. I got 8 so Id have to pay the full price which is like $740 I think. But I just bought an mbox pro with full version of PT 11 plus 10 included for $800!
If you buy mbox standard you only get Pro tools express and have to pay an extra 400 to upgrade to full. So thats $800 total. For an extra $100 or so you can get an mbox pro. Is that insane or what!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2014, 01:13 AM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

yea it can get pretty expensive to upgrade all your favorite plugins to AAX.That a big problem .Like your starting all over again if you have a lot of plugins you would like to keep
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:03 AM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 235
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

Yeah, nice deal! I was actually saying that it took about $400 just to update all my plugins: waves, native instruments, etc. I've still got some that I'm going to need to upgrade at some point...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2014, 08:17 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

Quote:
Yeah, nice deal! I was actually saying that it took about $400 just to update all my plugins: waves, native instruments, etc. I've still got some that I'm going to need to upgrade at some point...
Updating to AAX should be free, shouldn't it? I thought you only payed when you update to different versions like from Komplete 8 to 9.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2014, 09:10 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Is it worth upgrading to Pro tools 11?

It all depends. Each company is different. Sometimes the AAX update is free, sometimes you need to buy a higher version, and in the case of Waves, depending on which version you were at previously, you may need to pay for the Update plan.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
worth upgrading 002 to 003 ? dendee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-26-2008 07:23 AM
Worth upgrading from 7.2 to 7.4 ? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 01-29-2008 02:32 PM
Is it worth Upgrading to 7.0??...... Dogcode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 12-06-2005 08:57 PM
upgrading from pro tools 6.4 to 7, is it worth it? rozak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-26-2005 09:55 AM
ISIT WORTH UPGRADING FROM 001 TO PRO TOOLS D24 ? cane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 01-25-2002 01:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com