Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:51 AM
getinnocuous getinnocuous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Channel volume problem

Hello, first time poster here and hoping you may be able to help me.

My system spec is: iMac 10.6.2, 3.06ghz, 4G RAM, Pro Tools 8.0.3, Mbox2 Mini

Everytime i load up PT and create a new track and arm it the channel strip volume just produces a solid yellow line. The Mox is connected to my mac, and the output of the mbox goes to 2 KRK RP6's using balanced cabling.

Here is a picture of what it looks like...

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/9...00205at154.png

Is this faulty hardware, or a software issue?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks.

Last edited by getinnocuous; 02-05-2010 at 07:53 AM. Reason: Not enough information.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2010, 08:53 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,017
Default Re: Channel volume problem

Is anything connected to input one on the mbox?

Do you hear anything, noise, hum?

Does the same thing happen with input two?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2010, 09:51 AM
getinnocuous getinnocuous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Channel volume problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Is anything connected to input one on the mbox?

Do you hear anything, noise, hum?

Does the same thing happen with input two?
I have a Waldorf Blofeld, and there is a high pitched whistling and when i turn the headphone mix up i occasionally get a loud burst of white noise.

Input 2 is the same also.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2010, 01:40 PM
getinnocuous getinnocuous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Channel volume problem

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2010, 05:09 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,017
Default Re: Channel volume problem

And the Waldorf Blofeld is connected to the input? when it is not, nothing?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2010, 05:31 PM
Majorek Majorek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Blue Garbage Planet
Posts: 222
Default Re: Channel volume problem

When the Waldorf is not connected and you arm for record a freshly created track, do you still hear that high pitch sound?
__________________
MacBook Pro - OS X 10.6 - Pro Tools LE 8 - Mbox 2

Drone / Ambient / Experimental
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2010, 01:02 AM
getinnocuous getinnocuous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Channel volume problem

When the Blofeld is not connected there isn't a high pitched sound, only when it is connected.

Grounding issue maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2010, 03:29 AM
mrn mrn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Channel volume problem

Hello.

in short: i am afraid we are facing a serious HW design issue here..

in long: i just got a waldorf blofeld with integrated keboard. unpacked it, connected to ac outlet, plugged in some high-quality headphones (quite sensitive ones with Z=32Ohm), flapped the Power button on the Blofeld ...and

1. unbelievable high Click in the headphones appeared when switchin the blofeld on/off. First i thought that sthng is wrong, i really felt the membranes of the headphone were saturated for a while! It was an effect as when you connect a 9V battery directly yo the headphones!!!
Ok, i thought "the headphone amplifier is probably gone". But not! The blofeld plays very nicely, so the aplifier is ok, however...

2. there is also a high pitched noise always present in the headphone output. If you do not play loud, it seems like listening to a cheap soundcard with grounding problems. Just like when all the internal activity (mouse movement, window minimisation) of a PC is also hearable through the soundcard. (I am sure you know what i am speaking about!) To check this, just hit a key on te blofeld softly, and you will hear a high-pitched thing in the background few seconds till the sound really dies ..

3. now, let us activate the upper LED (press the small Utility button), and try to move the Mix1, Mix2, Mode Clock, potMets, or shift the Pitch ...what do you see? Coz in my case the top led just blinks like crazy. For me this is a sign of not really stable DC supply.

4. Ok, maybe the headphone was too sensitive for the test, so I decided to connect the headhone output of the blofeld to a hi-fi amplifier. Why the headphone output? Coz' this is which is making buzz, clicks, and this is we are fosusing on right now...So, amplifier on, blofeld on, amp volume set to 30%, gettign closer with the jack to the blofeld to plug it in.... The moment i touch the outer Jack ring (Gnd) of the blofeld with the Left live part of the amplifier JAck, huge buzz came from the speakers.. Really. So, another sign of a floating Ground! But floating as if it were connected somehow to the AC line...

Really strange. My first plan is go back to the shop, and to see if the other blofeld there also makes the click and buzz through the headphones... But pls, blofeld users, give a feedback here, either this is a real design problem, or my device is reallt missing some grounding...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2010, 02:32 PM
mrn mrn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Channel volume problem

ok, this poor Blofeld just gave up:
suddenly started to produce a simple beep-llike signal,
stopped to react, and after a reboot no controls work,
no sound, nothing, boots very slowly, takes him .. i mean her minutes to
show the menu .. so, i do not know, makes me sad ... really sad ..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lovering volume on track channel? Sevdah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-18-2009 12:02 AM
digi 002/7.4 installation problem/not recordable volume problem fifthflaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-08-2008 01:28 PM
Can I Group a Channel Volume with an Aux Send Volume? acacia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 08-10-2007 12:26 PM
Anyone using Fibre Channel have this problem. CLee Post - Surround - Video 2 08-16-2006 01:37 PM
left channel audio is playing at a lower volume nodrog1213 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-02-2004 04:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com