Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2018, 02:08 PM
jeffpardo jeffpardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Default 12.8.3 GUI Laggy

Hey all - brand new iMac Pro, today did a completely clean install of PT 12.8.3.....definitely feeling the GUI is laggy. Behind on mouse clicks, scrolling, etc... I'm coming up from an old MacBook Pro computer on ProTools 11. Every other graphic thing (folders, internet, etc) is SUPER snappy on this iMac Pro.

Anybody else having 12.8.3 GUI lag issues? I read a lot of you had them on 12.8.2.

Any thoughts? Assuming Avid is aware...?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2018, 02:17 PM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: 12.8.3 GUI Laggy

Are you running 10.13.2?
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2018, 02:28 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: 12.8.3 GUI Laggy

Well, that's dissapointing!I was hoping the iMac Pro would have resolved these GUI issues - especially given the price tag The issue seems to lie somewhere between the 5k graphics on the iMac and GPU implementation in PT, try reducing the screen res on the iMac or do what I did, hook up a 1080p monitor via Thunderbolt and perform the more graphically sensitive work on that, it works perfectly for me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2018, 02:39 PM
appledude appledude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Round Rock Texas
Posts: 205
Default Re: 12.8.3 GUI Laggy

From another thread under Pro Tools MAC:

#65 Report Post
Old 01-01-2018, 04:33 PM
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,540
Default Re: iMac Pro Customization Options - Thoughts?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpellizzi View Post
Got my iMac Pro 8 core up and running yesterday, and I've been putting it through the paces all day today.

This thing is a beast in every way, but one thing is really bugging me.

I'm still noticing a bit of GUI lag/latency when zooming and scrolling. It's light years better than my 2015 iMac, but still just a bit sluggish.

Same deal as usual - turn on Low Resolution mode, lower your display resolution (scaled), or resize your Edit Window and the performance improves dramatically.

It's like there's something weird with the 2560x1440 iMac Retina resolution that Pro Tools just doesn't get along with. The machine isn't being taxed in the least, barely ever reaching 10-20% CPU/Memory usage in most of my larger sessions.

It has to be something with Metal and Pro Tools just not taking advantage of the GPU, or something with the Retina resolution. This doesn't happen on my 2016 Macbook Pro 13" with Touch Bar, which pales in comparison to the specs of this iMac, so I'm a bit disappointed.

Also doesn't happen on my studio Mac Pro cylinder with 1080p displays... but it has happened on every 27" iMac I've owned over the years.

If you Get Info on Pro Tools in Applications, and check 'Low Resolution', then restart PT - you'll see and feel the difference immediately. The reason I really don't want to run that way, is because it blurs a lot of the text on clips, in menu/dialogs and introduces a handful of other weird GUI things. Plus it just looks ugly. We shouldn't have to sacrifice anything when we drop $5k+ on a top of the line computer that Avid made a press release specifically announcing support for.

Anyone else with me on this, or am I just being nitpicky and crazy?

Edit:
Made 2 quick videos with screen capture, though it might be tough to tell without doing and feeling it for yourself.

Here's how it runs normally:
https://youtu.be/TMyJA8iUI6o

and here's in Low Resolution:
https://youtu.be/Nf_Q_sQk1b0
We just had a customer with this issue and Avid CS sent them this info:

Thank you for contacting Avid Technical Support. Currently there is a Quartz Redrawing issue with Pro Tools and 4k and 5k displays. This issue is being prioritized with our Engineering team and they are also in touch with Apple, to help resolve this issue as quickly as possible. Currently, here are the recommendations given by Engineering and Apple for better performance:

1) BUILT-IN RETINA DISPLAY SETTINGS:
-> Choose: sRGB IEC61966-2.1 (away from the default), found here:
System Preferences > Displays > Color > Display Profile

2) QUARTS REDRAWING ISSUE with 4 and 5K monitors:
-> iMac 5k models, as per Apple:
-> Set to 2K for it to be smoother

3) Try the following on iMacs particularly 5K models (As per Apple):
->Disable Automatic Brightness

I hope this helps as our customer was dead in the water with that issue and is now back to work done.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!

SpaceCabinAudio.com
__________________
Imac Pro 27" 10-core with a LG 4K for a second screen
OS 10.14.4
Pro Tools 2019.6
UAD Apollo X8P With an extra 8 channel ADAT using
a Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
UAD Twin duo
UAD TB3 Octo Satelite
Focal Twin Be monitors
samsung T5 and Gdrive
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2018, 06:47 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 405
Default Re: 12.8.3 GUI Laggy

I also notice laggy GUI, specifically in the MIDI editor (full screen) when scrolling. This is for 12.8.3 on the latest High Sierra with a 2015 iMac 5K top of the line. I do have a custom monitor color profile though - wonder if that is it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 and 12 laggy on record wevets Windows 2 08-08-2015 08:30 AM
Pro Tools 11 suddenly became laggy? thesoundbros Pro Tools 11 6 06-13-2015 10:18 AM
Pro Tools 10 Laggy dairyman3833 Windows 7 05-14-2012 06:08 AM
ProTools got very laggy paintballnsk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-22-2008 10:06 AM
PT 7.3 SUPER LAGGY??? cfb25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-19-2006 11:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com