Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Estock Estock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2
Default HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Hello all,

I've been an HD user for years and I've always lurked, but never posted. Today I ran into an issue that is driving me mad, so I signed up hoping one of you brains new the answer. He goes nothing...

I'm working on a HUGE project for a drum sample library (over 140GB at 48k). I've made all the edits and fades, mixed everything, and printed the mix to new tracks. This printed are, obviously, now one massive region, versus all of the original tracks were edited. Is there any way to select all of the original edited regions at once, without the space in between each region (like you can with the object tool), and apply the edit start and stop points to the printed track below all at once? I can't imagine there isn't a way to do this.

Based on everything I can find, I'll have to select the original edit, drop the selection down to the track below using ";" and then used "Cmd + E" to separate the selection for every single hit. I have somewhere in the neighborhood of 50,000 hits! Is there an easier way to do this? Any help is SERIOUSLY appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2015, 03:11 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Strip Silence.

Probably best to do it in a series of manageable sections, rather than try all at once, though that would work.



Alternatively, if you still have the original track, with all the edits intact, you could group that with the new track, tab to region boundary, and hit b (to cut) at the start, and end of the first clip, and from then on hit a (to trim start) at the start of each clip, and b at the end of each clip, until the final clip where you'd hit s (to trim end).

Last edited by Carl Kolchak; 11-08-2015 at 03:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2015, 05:41 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Carl, I think I learned this from you in a thread about room tone "auto-filling".
It might be applied to the OP's situation, basically, it is a double procedure of yours.
Duplicate the print track,
Object select the edits in the edit track, move them to the first print track, hit B, move the moved edited clips right away back to its edit track- now only the unwanted empty space is left in the first print track (a kind of a negative mask),
object select those unwanted empty space clips in this first print track,
move them to the second print track, hit delete - print track cut like the edited clips.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (41.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (40.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (38.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (42.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (44.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 11-09-2015 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2015, 05:41 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

... and the last 2 pics.

And then the auto-renaming of the cut clips and exporting.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (44.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 7.jpg (42.9 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 11-09-2015 at 06:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2015, 07:03 AM
Estock Estock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Carl, I think I learned this from you in a thread about room tone "auto-filling".
It might be applied to the OP's situation, basically, it is a double procedure of yours.
Duplicate the print track,
Object select the edits in the edit track, move them to the first print track, hit B, move the moved edited clips right away back to its edit track- now only the unwanted empty space is left in the first print track (a kind of a negative mask),
object select those unwanted empty space clips in this first print track,
move them to the second print track, hit delete - print track cut like the edited clips.
You, sir, are a scholar and a saint! I never thought of using one track as a mask. Good stuff! I still have faith in humanity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2017, 11:12 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Carl, I think I learned this from you in a thread about room tone "auto-filling".
It might be applied to the OP's situation, basically, it is a double procedure of yours.
Duplicate the print track,
Object select the edits in the edit track, move them to the first print track, hit B, move the moved edited clips right away back to its edit track- now only the unwanted empty space is left in the first print track (a kind of a negative mask),
object select those unwanted empty space clips in this first print track,
move them to the second print track, hit delete - print track cut like the edited clips.


Yeah, I've forgotten more about Pro Tools than I'll ever know





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:27 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Nice from you, to respond.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2017, 06:26 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Nice from you, to respond.


Only took me 18 months


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi-Region-Edits Ableton Rocks Pro Tools 11 6 11-29-2015 07:45 AM
Multi region edits? Help Please Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 19 08-04-2010 09:35 AM
Multi region edits? Help Please -- re post Fullsound Recording Tips & Tricks 3 08-02-2010 08:07 PM
Automation won't follow region edits Sound Mine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-11-2007 06:03 PM
Multiple region edits sscp101 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-28-2006 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com