Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2017, 10:30 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 790
Default Fresh install - licence deactivation

Hello,

Looking for some advice on fresh install processes.

I'm getting ready to completely wipe and fresh install my whole workstation, but am starting realise there are a few licences for various software that need to be deactivated on this machine before I hit 'erase drive'.

Does anyone have any tips on best practise for making sure i've deactivated all necessary software before I go ahead with this process? So I don't run into the issue of not being able to authorise software once I start reinstalling everything?

Any help is appreciated,

- T
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2017, 12:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,925
Default Re: Fresh install - licence deactivation

iLok takes care of most of it, but you should list your software and check whether some of it requires deactivation. sorry to say but that is the only way.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2017, 08:39 AM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Fresh install - licence deactivation

Your best option, on top of what was mentioned, is to clone/backup that system. That way it's still in tact in the event you missed one. You can boot back to that system and deactivate the license. ILok is self explanatory, Waves uses Waves Central; you can either put your licenses into the cloud or put them on a thumb drive, Arturia has a similar thing as waves; but you have to deauthorize.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2017, 04:54 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 790
Default Re: Fresh install - licence deactivation

Thanks for the insight everybody!

I always make a clone of my drive before doing anything drastic, so that's covered.

I've run into issues before by overlooking some applications, then I have to get in contact with support to request more licences.

I've put together an excel spreadsheet and am going through each application and noting serial number, licence type, whether i have up-to-date installer, their location, and whether it needs deactivation or not. I'll do this for plugins too - 95% of them will be fine, as covered by licence managers/dongles. But it's the Arturias, and the Klanghelm's of the plugin library that need deactivation as to not burn a licence seat by mistake.

Taking my time this time around - will let you know how it goes.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh install...bad, bad, bad.... gofortheheart Windows 5 09-03-2012 03:21 PM
Clean install of PT 10 under fresh install of Lion bortraws macOS 0 10-24-2011 08:53 AM
Fresh install of LE 8 Fezzler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2010 12:13 PM
PT8 fresh install BlueThursday 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 02-12-2009 06:44 PM
Fresh Install? carnology 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-16-2005 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com