Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:50 PM
Rithem Rithem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default PT 8 useless until fixed

PT 8 seems really great. An annoying problem prevents me from working, though. I work full time on many records at once and I really hope to get this fixed asap. DigiSupport?

Zoom and scroll is so slow, you sometimes even can count to seconds before anything happens. The OSX performance monitor shows a lot of activity when zooming. I've narrowed the problem down to something only explainable by DigiDesign by doing the following:

- No external devices but the session drive over FW 800. Not even iLok.
- All Plugins moved to unused and no plugs or elastic in session.
- Tried various processor usage alternatives in playback engine

I have 3gb of ram in a Dual 2,33 Mac Book Pro
Clean install of Leopard, then import from SuperDuper bootable clone
of my fully working Tiger / PT 7.4 including a lot of plugs.

(SoundToys, Arturia, NI Komplete 3, Autotune, DFH, Waves Gold 5)

When having less stuff more zoomed in on the screen, the problem is not there. Seems too much higher resolution waveforms causes this.
I guess we are looking at an upgrade soon. Think you can make the old waveform graphics an option in preferences? Or rather just fix the problem?

Warmest regards and a happy new year 2009
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:58 PM
guitar486 guitar486 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 727
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

Zooming and scrolling is just as quick and smooth for me as it was in 7.4. Sounds like your problem is machine related.
__________________
----I was thinking of taking a solo in the bridge.
-Nah, I don't think that would sound good.
----Ok, well how about just a series of cool riffs?

Mac Pro 2008 (Harpertown) -- OS X 10.8.2 -- 16GB RAM -- WD Black Drives -- UA Apollo Quad -- Pro Tools 10 w/ CPTK
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:09 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

Your statements are contradictory: "PT 8 Useless until fixed" and then "PT 8 seems really great." Which is it?

Same as guitar486 here: I haven't noticed any difference in scrolling or zooming.

It's not clear which setup you're using: the one with all plugins move to "unused", or the one including a lot of plugins. You also don't list whether you're running 10.5.4 or something newer and how you upgraded.

I'd suggest the troubleshooting FAQ. I find it hard to believe that the beta testers all missed something universally visible like slow scrolling/zooming, so I also think it's something with your setup.

EDIT: Actually, I went back and did some more scrolling and zooming and it does seem slower than what I remember on 7.4.2. It's probably related to the higher resolution waveforms, but I'm sure it can be improved.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:21 PM
Jussi Jussi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

I would suggest you to throw out some of your NI Komplete plug-ins. As far as I remember, Akoustik Piano, Elektrik, Kontakt, BAttery, FM8 are not compatible with PT & Leopard (which definitely sucks). Check out the NI user forum.

Zooming, for which I use R ant T keys, works just fine for me.

Some crashes with heavy sessions occurring, though. IK plug-ins, I suppose. (Someone wrote IK is working to improve the performance.)
__________________
mp (8x2,8ghz 8gb) mbp (c2d 2,53ghz 4gb) osx10.6.3 pt8.0.3 mptk2 mbox2
www.myspace.com/pukspace
eSoundz name: jus11
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:28 PM
seraph_np seraph_np is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

I just got PT 8 and it's quit solid to me, but the only problem i have is the EZdrummer interface. seems like i cannot click at the spot i want. i have to click 1" above that spot. so annoying
__________________
seraph_np
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2009, 05:58 PM
Rithem Rithem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

Ran it without any plugs whatsoever and only audiotracks going straight out.
Did you all do a new install of all plugs etc?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:14 PM
trampbaby trampbaby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

you may want to do some research on Ezdrummer and PT8, ive seen some horror stories posted online...i just took it out of my active plugin folder...and use bfd2 which seems to be working fine..
__________________
www.myspace.com/ladyandatramp


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:20 PM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

One thing I noticed is the Mini Grand window took ages to just be dragged around the screen. And I have a Mac Pro with the Ati card etc. There is some foo with the graphics routines it appears...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:35 PM
Rithem Rithem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

This is very interesting. I hope DigiSupport reads this veery soon.

Osx 10.5.6 is just so full ofbugs. So unlike apple.
I just had a look at the .6 update page: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3194

Includes this:



Graphics

* Includes general improvements to gaming performance.
* Includes graphics improvements for iChat, Cover Flow, Aperture, and iTunes.
* Includes fixes for possible graphics distortion issues with certain ATI graphics cards.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:43 PM
Rithem Rithem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT 8 useless until fixed

Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
* Pro Tools 8.0 requires Mac OS X 10.5.5, and is not compatible with earlier versions of Leopard (not tested with 10.5.6)

Looks like ill be doing a bothersome 10.5.5 downgrade..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPT now useless in PT8? Taliq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-05-2008 04:45 AM
Mbox is useless in OSX spookster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-06-2005 10:39 AM
T-racks EQ useless Joz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 01-22-2004 09:25 AM
Useless Track Pad bslack ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 02-21-2002 03:16 AM
MasterList Useless? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-26-2001 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com