Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2012, 09:04 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 426
Default using Layouts from project on another?

Hello All, new user from Hong Kong here!

just purchased a MC Mix - must say very happy with it in the week I've had it. - it replaces a recently defunct mackie HUI ( got my monies worth out of that one )

now considering getting a Control as well..

( nice size and some useful functions..

One of the better functions for me is "layout " storing

and the ability to Lock faders to tracks...

means my submasters for D M E - as well as key channels like Mr VO - are right where I want them!

presently I am mixing 2 or 3 TV series,,, varying from 12 to 52 episodes!

Of course we are building the shows around a common template - in fact some of them have beeen in production for almost a year now and about to hit the mixing phase!

basically its a (minor) annoyance to recreate the same "layout" in effect for 52 shows ( basically I have assigned the first 7 faders and the 8th is a floater )

now my wish is to find a work around to be able graft the layout from one session to another..

any tips? or tricks to do this?

thanks all! :)



www.fork-media.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2012, 08:26 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 532
Default Re: using Layouts from project on another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fork-media View Post
Hello All, new user from Hong Kong here!

just purchased a MC Mix - must say very happy with it in the week I've had it. - it replaces a recently defunct mackie HUI ( got my monies worth out of that one )

now considering getting a Control as well..

( nice size and some useful functions..

One of the better functions for me is "layout " storing

and the ability to Lock faders to tracks...

means my submasters for D M E - as well as key channels like Mr VO - are right where I want them!

presently I am mixing 2 or 3 TV series,,, varying from 12 to 52 episodes!

Of course we are building the shows around a common template - in fact some of them have beeen in production for almost a year now and about to hit the mixing phase!

basically its a (minor) annoyance to recreate the same "layout" in effect for 52 shows ( basically I have assigned the first 7 faders and the 8th is a floater )

now my wish is to find a work around to be able graft the layout from one session to another..

any tips? or tricks to do this?

thanks all! :)



www.fork-media.com
I don't know if there is a way through the Eucon software. In logic pro however, you can start with an "autoload" template track with everything laid out in advance..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2012, 04:12 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 426
Default Re: using Layouts from project on another?

thanks for your reply! that seems like a useful function

actually I must confess - whilst I have bought protools 9 native - I seldom use it - I just bought it cos I had files supplied in protools format that I needed transfering to DP 7 ( digital performer )


I migrated to that since PT didnt have clip based gain and this did ( I heard pt 10 just got this - but anyways I am used to DP now and its great have a render farm that can out put M and E's at waaay faster than realtime )


I wonder if this function is available in DP - will have to take a look!

I certainly start from a template each time - its just that these jobs started *before* I had the MC Mix - i shall certainly update my template now.!

cheers Robert!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any way to make Layouts universal? KeyplayerG Artist Series 0 02-02-2014 01:02 PM
Moving layouts from one project to the next postprosound Artist Series 3 01-18-2014 06:22 AM
Layouts Reckless Erik Artist Series 6 09-17-2013 07:21 AM
Layouts In Flux Dsturzy VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 03-16-2013 07:27 PM
Storing Layouts on Artist Mix?? tomhartman Artist Series 16 07-13-2012 04:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com