Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2012, 03:26 PM
TylerJohnson TylerJohnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SF, CA.
Posts: 24
Default Dolby Media Producer Suite vs. Dolby LM100

I have the Dolby Media Producer Suite which includes Dolby Media Meter.

Discovery has just sent us a spec sheet that states that all of our audio must be analyzed with an LM100 Broadcast Loudness Meter with short term dialog levels set between -22 and -32 and infinite term levels should be between -26 and -28.

Can Dolby Media Meter analyze this correctly or do I need to purchase this rack mount? I'd rather not spend the $3k if this is a work around. I haven scoured the internet and have only come up with forum posts from 2007/2008/2009, no new stuff.

I would hate to work on this only to have it sent back from Discovery and the production manager rip me a new one.
__________________
www.tyler-johnson.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:05 PM
mbourque mbourque is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 135
Default Re: Dolby Media Producer Suite vs. Dolby LM100

They both work in the same way. I use the Media Meter plug-in and have compared it with the LM-100 and the readings were the same.
__________________
Matthieu Bourque
Kaïku Audio

PT Ultimate 2018.12 on macOS 10.13.3

and PT HD 12.7 on macOS 10.12
Custom build
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU: Intel i7 6700K
RAM: G-Skill Trident Z 32 Gb
RME Fireface UFX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:38 PM
TylerJohnson TylerJohnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SF, CA.
Posts: 24
Default Re: Dolby Media Producer Suite vs. Dolby LM100

Thanks for the reply.

I just want to be 100% sure that I can go forward with this project confident that I won't ruin my producer's reputation because a show gets sent back to the studio because of Audio problems.

Have your or has anyone here used this successfully with a comparable spec sheet from a network?

-Tyler
__________________
www.tyler-johnson.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2012, 06:59 AM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 389
Default Re: Dolby Media Producer Suite vs. Dolby LM100

Yes,

most people around here are using the Media Meter (v2) instead of the LM100 to pass network specs. Very common now.

Randall


Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerJohnson View Post
Thanks for the reply.

I just want to be 100% sure that I can go forward with this project confident that I won't ruin my producer's reputation because a show gets sent back to the studio because of Audio problems.

Have your or has anyone here used this successfully with a comparable spec sheet from a network?

-Tyler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2012, 02:41 PM
dennizzz dennizzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dolby Media Producer Suite vs. Dolby LM100

Is Dolby Media Meter v1 still appropriate (in comparisation with v2)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby lm100 Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 0 09-17-2012 06:52 PM
Dolby Media Meter vs. LM100 Applebee Post - Surround - Video 4 08-19-2010 05:52 AM
DTS or Dolby Media Producer for Blu-Ray DarthFader777 Post - Surround - Video 4 08-25-2009 06:51 AM
Dolby E and Dolby Media Meter Newbie Questions AudioPostChris Post - Surround - Video 4 02-08-2009 03:53 PM
DOLBY Media Producer minister Post - Surround - Video 4 01-04-2006 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com