Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-25-2016, 04:25 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

They all sell, just depends on the asking price
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-25-2016, 06:37 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Nope, no return policy. Best you can do is sell it; but I don't think it'll be an easy sale.
That's lame. I still have a but of hope. I read on one forum that the Nx plug works the way I expected when combined with Sonarworks Reference 3 software. It's $99, but has a fully functional 21 day demo, so if it does work I can atleast use it for the recording.

Also, is there a demo for the Slate Trigger plugin? If so, I haven't been able to find it.
Anyone try the Pintech RS-5 Trigger? It's only $20 and you can hook it up to a drum shell and it will trigger a sample.

On the Gear Page Forum it's been heavily recommended that I ditch my SP1's for OH's and rent 414's or M260's. Will it really be that much more of an improvement over the SP1's? For that money I could rent that BAE/Neve 1073 preamp. In the drum recording test runs I've done the SP1's seem to sound good, especially since my drums haven't been tuned yet; I have a friend of mine coming by this Wednesday to tune them up properly.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-25-2016, 07:32 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Yeah slate used to have a demo for trigger
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-25-2016, 08:16 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
That's lame. I still have a but of hope. I read on one forum that the Nx plug works the way I expected when combined with Sonarworks Reference 3 software. It's $99, but has a fully functional 21 day demo, so if it does work I can atleast use it for the recording.

Also, is there a demo for the Slate Trigger plugin? If so, I haven't been able to find it.
Anyone try the Pintech RS-5 Trigger? It's only $20 and you can hook it up to a drum shell and it will trigger a sample.

On the Gear Page Forum it's been heavily recommended that I ditch my SP1's for OH's and rent 414's or M260's. Will it really be that much more of an improvement over the SP1's? For that money I could rent that BAE/Neve 1073 preamp. In the drum recording test runs I've done the SP1's seem to sound good, especially since my drums haven't been tuned yet; I have a friend of mine coming by this Wednesday to tune them up properly.


Slate has a demo you usually have to email them for it. Personally, I wouldn't spend anymore money. You already pissed away cash on magic beans. We'll all have our opinions, but you need to learn for yourself. The best way to do that, is well...just do it with what you have. Put that money in your pocket, then take the money you get from doing the session and put it your pocket. Use it exclusively for saving up for GOOD equipment. I'm not sure of your age or experience, but recording is a business and operating at a profit or breaking even is a good start. Operating at a loss is bad business.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-25-2016, 08:20 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Slate has a demo you usually have to email them for it. Personally, I wouldn't spend anymore money.
HUH?! The demo cost money?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-25-2016, 09:50 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
HUH?! The demo cost money?


Sigh, no the demo is free. Don't spend any more money. Just record.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-26-2016, 12:33 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Sigh, no the demo is free. Don't spend any more money. Just record.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No worries there; my wallet's perpetually empty.. except for the time i emptied it for that **** nx plugin
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-26-2016, 11:50 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
That plugin seems like hokey pokey to me. Just make sure you know your headphones and reference your mixes. That's the best you can do if you don't have monitors.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Waves just told me that I can retun the Nx plugin and they're gonna issue me a $99 store credit! I gotta check out what they got that woud be of use to me. Ive been interested in a MidSide plugin, specifically the brainwaves bx_control V2, but that's not made by Waves. I think it was on this forum that someone recommended the Waves Center plugin which is supposedly just as good if not better than the brainworks. I'm gonna check out my other options too. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-26-2016, 04:43 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
Waves just told me that I can retun the Nx plugin and they're gonna issue me a $99 store credit! I gotta check out what they got that woud be of use to me. Ive been interested in a MidSide plugin, specifically the brainwaves bx_control V2, but that's not made by Waves. I think it was on this forum that someone recommended the Waves Center plugin which is supposedly just as good if not better than the brainworks. I'm gonna check out my other options too. Any suggestions?


That's awesome! They're pretty good over there at waves. I'd be on the hunt for a compressor, EQ or multiband compressor from Waves. Personally, I'm a fan of the Renaissance Collection and have been for years.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-26-2016, 10:40 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recording with Mixer Preamps

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
That's awesome! They're pretty good over there at waves. I'd be on the hunt for a compressor, EQ or multiband compressor from Waves. Personally, I'm a fan of the Renaissance Collection and have been for years.
I'm already kinda knee deep in comoressors. I have the UA L2A Collection, Neve 33609 plus the the Neve 88S, 1176 and Fairchild 670 "Legacy" plugins that came with thr Apollo unit. The Legacy versions are kind of a sample of what you'll be getting when buying the actual collections.


I'm just gonna try a bunch of the demos and see what I like best. The reel to reel simulater plugs interest me, as does a MidSide that I've already mentioned in this thread. Another quality EQ would be nice too. I might be able to get a couple; some of the ones I've looked at are only around $45.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording from inserts without bypassing preamps? ForTozs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 05-04-2011 07:54 AM
002 line ins vs. Soundcraft mixer preamps djecity Tips & Tricks 2 08-17-2005 12:31 AM
Mic preamps: recording 8 tracks at once???? jbraly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-24-2003 11:45 AM
External PreAmps and Mixer gain Kenshiro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-23-2003 11:19 PM
Favorite Mics and Preamps for Acoustic Guitar Recording Mike O. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-14-2002 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com