Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2020, 08:08 AM
info@npp.co.uk info@npp.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Default Strange message when inserting plug in

Has anyone seen this message when trying to insert a plug in:

Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/protools/release/2020/r1/ProTools/NewFilLibs/Sys/MacOS/
Sys_FileLocMacOS.cpp", line 230

It's causing chaos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2020, 08:18 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,175
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

And if you just Googled "Sys_FileLocMacOS.cpp" you would find ... https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=402484
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2020, 09:02 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
And if you just Googled "Sys_FileLocMacOS.cpp" you would find ... https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=402484
Brilliant, a link to another thread that provides no answers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2020, 09:07 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,175
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Brilliant, a link to another thread that provides no answers.
Except swapping the playback engine described right there that fixes that issue for some people.

And you are adding value here how?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2020, 03:40 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Except swapping the playback engine described right there that fixes that issue for some people.
Well why didn’t you just write that then, instead of coming across as a smart Alec? Jeez some people.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2020, 03:44 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,175
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Well why didn’t you just write that then, instead of coming across as a smart Alec? Jeez some people.
Because I want people to know how to solve their own problems when they get an assert message. And I assumed that if giving a direct link to a thread with a possible solution that required reading a few simple messages most folks would be intellectually able to do that. And all those messages give context, that it works for some, not for others, how long it's been going on etc.

There is also an expectation on DUC that people search for know issues before starting a new thread.

Still not seeing you ad any value at all in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2020, 05:01 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,692
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

Help Us Help You page is linked to forum header, but maybe it should be right on top of this text box where you type your asked and answered question..

Sometimes simply googling the issue gives you the answers.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2020, 12:34 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

I still don’t think the answer shines through in that thread and I read through it twice. One person suggested it, no one else says “yes that’s it!”— I think I would have still been confused if it was me.

I also don’t think there’s any harm in asking a question with some technical aspect on here, surely that’s what it’s for. It’s not like the OP was asking how to open a file or how to copy and paste. They could then be directed to the right place - assuming there is one - rather than the equivalent of “hey dumb ass, what do you think google is for?”

A little patience, tolerance and understanding isn’t too much to ask is it? What’s the point of being on here if it’s not to ask for/offer help in a constructive, positive way?

If this post makes people think twice about how they post, and remember there’s an actual human being on the other side, then that’s my “value” to this thread and indeed to the whole forum. Over and out.

Last edited by midnightrambler; 07-08-2020 at 04:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,692
Default Re: Strange message when inserting plug in

True


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserting Plug-ins before others causing lock-up TheJamsh Pro Tools 10 0 06-15-2012 04:16 AM
Inserting A Plug-In PRS4LIFE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-25-2005 09:36 PM
QUESTION ABOUT INSERTING MIDI PLUG INS thebends9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 01-21-2005 09:29 PM
HD stops playing while inserting plug in poncival Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2004 06:05 AM
inserting a plug in on an input while overdubbing music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-07-2004 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com