Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #441  
Old 09-16-2013, 08:11 AM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Yup, still getting them here as well.
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #442  
Old 09-16-2013, 12:04 PM
RamblerSound RamblerSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 105
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hey Guys,

Are you still seeing these errors with PT 11.0.x HD? And are you on OS 10.8.4?

Just wondering. I have an HD Native card and I'm thinking about upgrading to 11HD now that Waves has come out with AAX2 plugs.

I have found a combination of PTHD and OS that works pretty well for me and it would be a shame to upgrade into 9171 and 9172 errors.

Thanks for any input you have,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #443  
Old 09-18-2013, 03:27 AM
sound_music sound_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 140
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

i'm still encountering both -9171 and -9172 errors, among others. despite multiple fresh installs, following optmizations to the letter, and doing all the successive upgrades. (i even disabled spotlight for the first time ever to try and get PT running better!) it's poorly coded.. period.

currently running 10.3.7 on 10.8.4. no 11 co-install. (PT 11 still not an option for us here until more AAX2 plugs available. this is getting ridiculous.)

unimpressed considering the $10k+ i put into the HDX upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #444  
Old 09-18-2013, 08:11 AM
rafukyo rafukyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Tsoran Israel
Posts: 193
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Sound_music, can you take the OS drive and the HDX card to another computer for few hours just for the test? Maybe something is wrong with your computer? display card/memory.....
I had a 2008 mac pro and had tons of these errors. I upgraded the computer to 2009 model and forgot all about the errors. Just took the HD native and the OS drive out from the computer and into the new one . Everything worked smoothly.
Reply With Quote
  #445  
Old 09-18-2013, 08:20 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamblerSound View Post

Are you still seeing these errors with PT 11.0.x HD? And are you on OS 10.8.4?

.......

Scott
Very very very seldom with PT11.0.2. Much faster, less latency etc.
I'm on PT11 since 4 days now and all is amazing !
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #446  
Old 09-18-2013, 08:36 AM
RamblerSound RamblerSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 105
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanswurstlsepp View Post
Very very very seldom with PT11.0.2. Much faster, less latency etc.
I'm on PT11 since 4 days now and all is amazing !
Thanks for the reply. I think I'm going to get under the hood this weekend and upgrade away.

I'm looking forward to working with my system rather than on my system.

Thanks again,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #447  
Old 09-18-2013, 10:57 AM
sound_music sound_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 140
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by rafukyo View Post
Sound_music, can you take the OS drive and the HDX card to another computer for few hours just for the test? Maybe something is wrong with your computer? display card/memory.....
I had a 2008 mac pro and had tons of these errors. I upgraded the computer to 2009 model and forgot all about the errors. Just took the HD native and the OS drive out from the computer and into the new one . Everything worked smoothly.
hi rafukyo, glad your computer upgrade worked out your problems, cheers.

we're running a beast 12 core 5.1 machine with SSDs and maxed ram etc: there's no MP currently available that's better suited to the job!

too busy now, but as soon as i get some down time i'm going to try building it all up again from the OS level with a fresh drive etc...
Reply With Quote
  #448  
Old 09-21-2013, 12:53 PM
AudioPiranha AudioPiranha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 13
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I get those errors too all the time. Especially when opening dsp plugins. mainly on mcdsp and sonnox.

Haven't figured out a fix yet.
Reply With Quote
  #449  
Old 09-22-2013, 12:50 PM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioPiranha View Post
I get those errors too all the time. Especially when opening dsp plugins. mainly on mcdsp and sonnox.
Same here.
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #450  
Old 09-30-2013, 03:43 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 501
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I've been having this issue with PT 10.3.x and an HD Native card for months and I think I found a solution. Disable hyperthreading ( if you have it. It can be done with Xcode. Has cut way way down on my -9121 etc errors.

I hope this helps.

B


Ben Rubin
House of Cha Cha
Producer/Mixer/Bassist
www.benrubin.com

PT 10.3.7, Westmere Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 MHz, 16 gb ram, SSD startup drive, OSX 10.8.4, Apogee DA-16X, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1, Lynx Aurora 8, Neve 8816
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com