Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #431  
Old 08-24-2013, 09:34 AM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale Eckstein View Post
I'm looking at that slot 4 option. Seems like its going to block the fan with the hard drives. Why not slot 3?
Neale, did you try moving your HDX card to slot 4 (or even slot 3)? Curious to hear if this made any difference for you with regards to -9171 and -9172's. Thanks.
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 08-24-2013, 12:22 PM
Neale Eckstein's Avatar
Neale Eckstein Neale Eckstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 121
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I put it in slot 3. So far no errors, but I haven't really tested it long enough. Also, I'm using several beta plug-ins in 11 from Ivory, Omnisphere, and Soundtoys.
Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 08-24-2013, 12:46 PM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 334
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale Eckstein View Post
I put it in slot 3. So far no errors, but I haven't really tested it long enough. Also, I'm using several beta plug-ins in 11 from Ivory, Omnisphere, and Soundtoys.
Neale,
Keep us posted.
I'm having the same problems.
__________________
System 1---------------------System 2
MacPro 5,1---------------------------Windows 10
2-CPUs-------------------------------i7-CPU
OS X 10.14--------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
PreSonus 1824c --------------------HDX / 192 Analog
Fader Port---------------------------2-24" monitors
NI S61mkII--------------------------32GB Ram
64GB Ram---------------------------4 internal Drives
5-Glyph Rack Drives----------------Presonus 192 Mobile
2-24" Monitors----------------------Nektar Impact LX88+
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 08-24-2013, 02:03 PM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I moved my HD Native Card to slot 3 but unfortunately it made no difference to the amount of errors that I encountered.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 08-25-2013, 02:21 AM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Problem is that I also believe my harddrive in bay 4 (right above PCIe slot 4) doesn't get enough cooling when the HD Native card is in there.

I have a Radeon HD 5770 graphics card with 3 monitors connected and that generates a lot of heat. Already 2 harddisks in bay 4 have basically died giving bad blocks with the HD Native card in slot 4 blocking cooling to the hard drive.

Slot 3 might be a better option but I haven't tried it yet. Slot 4 doesn't make a difference to the errors though so I'm afraid that moving the card doesn't really help.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #436  
Old 09-13-2013, 03:58 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hi,

I'm on HDX since bout a week now and I'm getting occasional -9171 errors, too.
No big deal so far - after hitting ok PT 10.3.7 works again ... til all of the sudden *somewhen later* same error will happen again.

Tried all kind of playback engine settings combinations - but no luck so far.

It also happened that when I load a new project in, PT won't go into plb mode when I press play and a couple of seconds later the error -9171 pops up.
If this has happened, I always had to quit PT10.3.7 and restart it and reload the session which then will finally play.

Also sometimes I'm getting this. But I just clicked ok and everything worked fine.

All those errors never happened with my HD6 in MagmaChassis rig.

... still investigating and watching this thread ... but I confess, I haven't read all 48 pages ...
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #437  
Old 09-16-2013, 01:23 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hm, Hans... Join the club. I've still got them too.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #438  
Old 09-16-2013, 01:33 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe Larsen View Post
Hm, Hans... Join the club. I've still got them too.
Hi Boe,

thx for the warm welcome

I worked wit PT11 during the last 2 days.
Much better, less errors (was on 128 samples), lower latency, snappier etc
Maybe PT10 isn't made for HDX
Also I doubt that Avid will use manpower to investigate any further into PT10.
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #439  
Old 09-16-2013, 01:34 AM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

10.3.7 also hasn't fixed the problem for me running it with an HD native system and an OMNI.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #440  
Old 09-16-2013, 01:55 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanswurstlsepp View Post
Hi Boe,

thx for the warm welcome

I worked wit PT11 during the last 2 days.
Much better, less errors (was on 128 samples), lower latency, snappier etc
Maybe PT10 isn't made for HDX
Also I doubt that Avid will use manpower to investigate any further into PT10.
My experience exactly Hans
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com