Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #411  
Old 06-12-2013, 08:57 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I just did a swap from my TDM HD3 - 192 I/O to an HDX1 - 8x8x8 yesterday. After an update to the HDX card (automatic), calibration, which was spot on so I didn't have to touch it, and then some reconfiguring of the hardware and I/O pages I started to play around. I did get a few -9171 and I think a -9172, but these were almost always due to heavy cpu load from a few cpu intensive native plugs...I usually mix with Ozone 5 and use some of it's very cpu intensive settings. The other time I got them was when I didn't wait for the cache to fully load. For some reason, it seems to take longer than the TDM system, although I can't see why. And I just realized I didn't even trash prefs or databases! I'm going to do that today. Along with a rezap of the P-RAM. My hardware and OS are in my sig. I am running a GT120 video card with 2 monitors.

In conclusion, for my system in the infancy of the new configuration, it seems that the errors are similar to the -6(whatever they were) errors of running out of cpu power and need to remove some native plugins. I will report any further -9171/72 errors that seem to occur from a different stimulus than the above scenario. I hope this gives some additional info.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old 06-19-2013, 03:36 PM
boomsounddesign's Avatar
boomsounddesign boomsounddesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Curitiba, Brasil
Posts: 89
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Ok. So after a few days of testing it seems checking Ignore Errors During Playback/Record has solved the problem entirely. I was expecting many clicks and pops but they seem to almost never happen aside from extreme settings. For now this is the fix but guess I'll wait for PT11 for the real fix for this.
__________________
My Gear
Mac Pro (mid 2011) - 2x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Xeon, 16GB RAM, ProTools HD Native, UAD Quad.
HD IO 16x16 + Lynx Aurora 16
Solid State Logic Matrix
B&W 800 series + Yamaha HSM80s

Mojave Audio, Royer, Neumann, Audix, Yamaha, AKG and Shure mics. Focusrite ISA828, SSL Alpha VHD, UA LA610-mkii, M-Audio OctoPre, Avid Eleven Rack

Canare and Mogami cabling.

http://www.boomsounddesign.com
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old 06-19-2013, 03:37 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomsounddesign View Post
Ok. So after a few days of testing it seems checking Ignore Errors During Playback/Record has solved the problem entirely. I was expecting many clicks and pops but they seem to almost never happen aside from extreme settings. For now this is the fix but guess I'll wait for PT11 for the real fix for this.
Ok - will try...
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old 06-19-2013, 09:35 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomsounddesign View Post
Ok. So after a few days of testing it seems checking Ignore Errors During Playback/Record has solved the problem entirely. I was expecting many clicks and pops but they seem to almost never happen aside from extreme settings. For now this is the fix but guess I'll wait for PT11 for the real fix for this.
Wow, I wonder why I never tried this!! Thanks for the advice!!
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old 06-20-2013, 09:47 PM
boomsounddesign's Avatar
boomsounddesign boomsounddesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Curitiba, Brasil
Posts: 89
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hmm... Just ran the D-Verb test suggested on another post and this allows me to easily reproduce the -9171/-9172 errors and my fix for it.

Using a 32 sample buffer with 224 instances of D-Verb (signal generator running through em all) the error instantly appears (as would be expected). The funny thing is, the fix for that error for me has been to use Ignore Errors and having the box unchecked in this case actually produces MUCH more clicks and pops.

Raising the buffer to 1024 lets me run 288 instances. In both cases unchecking the Ignore Errors causes the CPU usage to spike all over the place. This to me signals something is wrong here.

It seems to me that having the box unchecked makes the engine stop work much earlier than it should. Thus my suggestion to anyone having that issue when you are certain you shouldn't be running into that error is to check the Ignore Errors box. It mitigates the problem to where the system is stable once again.
__________________
My Gear
Mac Pro (mid 2011) - 2x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Xeon, 16GB RAM, ProTools HD Native, UAD Quad.
HD IO 16x16 + Lynx Aurora 16
Solid State Logic Matrix
B&W 800 series + Yamaha HSM80s

Mojave Audio, Royer, Neumann, Audix, Yamaha, AKG and Shure mics. Focusrite ISA828, SSL Alpha VHD, UA LA610-mkii, M-Audio OctoPre, Avid Eleven Rack

Canare and Mogami cabling.

http://www.boomsounddesign.com
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old 06-27-2013, 12:03 AM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

How are you guys faring with 10.3.6 and PT 11? Still the same amount of errors?

I am going to doa clean install today to see if 10.3.6 gets rid of the errors.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old 06-27-2013, 12:17 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hm - 10.3.6 still the same here. However PT11HD hasn't done a single one yet.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old 06-27-2013, 12:28 AM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 353
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I can second Bo' post. PT 11 is awesome. So far. Still the problem with all the missing plugins: Waves Mercury, Slate Digital, Massenburg and Antares just to name a few.
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old 06-27-2013, 02:41 AM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

That sound's promising.

I'm clean installing OS X and PT 10.3.6 with PT 11. I'll see how that runs.

Let's hope the plugin developers that are behind have 64-bit versions soon.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #420  
Old 06-27-2013, 04:37 AM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

With regards to ProTools 11 and the -9171 and -9172 errors... Are you able to work at higher sample rates (88.2k and 96k) and bring the hardware buffer down below 512?
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7

Last edited by SHIRK; 06-27-2013 at 05:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com