Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #391  
Old 04-01-2013, 07:31 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

We just upgraded one of our systems from an HD4 on a PC (Win 7), to an HDX2 in a Mac. All of our other systems are Native on Mac but we stepped all systems back to OS 10.7.5 and aren't having any more -9171/72 problems with PT 10.3.4.

This last weekend, I was running the HDX2 with 97 tracks recording simultaneously from 128-I/O source without issues. We don't use a lot of plugins with this system because it's connected to an SSL C200 console having much more processiong power than we'd get from plugins, but the system does load up all current Avid plugs as well as Waves Diamond.

I will point out that with this many tracks running, I'm amazed that our CPU usage sits at 7-8% constantly. HDX is truly an amazing powerhouse, IMHO.

This system:

MacPro current 2.4GHz 12-core
Mac Lion 10.7.5
16GB RAM
3x1TB WD Black Cavier drives for audio
Avid HDX2
ProTools HD 10.3.4
128-I/O DigiLink to SSL DeltaLink MADI conversion
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #392  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:05 AM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Has anyone been able to figure out a fix for these error's? I can't get through a day w/o these error's popping up constantly.
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #393  
Old 04-04-2013, 11:52 AM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imagine View Post
Has anyone been able to figure out a fix for these error's? I can't get through a day w/o these error's popping up constantly.
Dean, what OS are you running? If you're on Mountain Lion, it's pretty much unavoidable.

There's still some issues with certain plugins (MDW5, AutoTuneEVO, to name a couple) where the 'license call' in the coding, when you click on the plugin (to open the window) is causing a -917X, even in 10.7.4.

I would STRONGLY, STRONGLY advise anyone to avoid Mountain Lion until these issues are solved conclusively, with an announcement.

Alas, the pending arrival of PT11 will probably halt any improvement of PT10 at this point, so any of these issues will probably be part of the trail of broken hearts...
Reply With Quote
  #394  
Old 04-04-2013, 11:59 AM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I'm running 10.8.3. So is it the plug in or the system that's messed up? And how do we know which PI causes these error's? There's no going back to (10.7-anything) for me at this point. I know a few people having 9171/72 with 10.7.4 and 10.7.5.
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #395  
Old 05-06-2013, 10:55 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Wow! I almost 'upgraded' my HD3 system to a new HDX1! I read this whole thread hoping it would get resolved, and nope, not gonna jump into the fire until this gets fixed... I just ran a big session and did about 20hrs of straight melodyne editing all over the place and didn't even think about hitting save.

On a side note, has anyone zapped their pram? I was having a few issues and I did this and now my machine is stellar again.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #396  
Old 05-08-2013, 11:41 AM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hi Guys and Gals,

I am experiencing the same problems ever since I upgraded to a HD Native card with an OMNI.

I have done extensive testing trying to eliminate everything but the kitchen sink from plugins, preferences, PCIe card slot swaps, system versions, PT versions, clocking checks, et cetera. I still get the same -9171, -9172, -9129 errors as all of you.

I definitely believe it is plugin related because the errors become a lot less when I don't use VTM or VCC from Steven Slate. I have a strange feeling though that this might be related to the graphics card driver. I've noticed that many others on this thread have the Radeon HD 5770. Maybe it is an OS X graphics card driver problem? And the errors are instantiated when a plugin does something graphical thus addressing your graphics card?

Maybe everyone can chime in and state which graphics card he or she has installed?

These are my system specs:

Mac Pro 8-core (2,1)
8 GB RAM (original Apple)
Radeon HD 5770 card with 3 monitors
Western Digital Caviar Black disk for audio
OS X 10.7.5 (clean install)
Pro Tools HD 10.3.5 (clean install)
ALL plugins up-to-date
(has been the mother of all jobs, but I keep track with a spread sheet)
HD Native Card (latest firmware)
HD OMNI (latest firmware)
Always fresh coffee in mug stating "I hate DAE Errors"
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #397  
Old 05-08-2013, 12:59 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hey Bortraws

I have ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB

Boe
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #398  
Old 05-08-2013, 03:07 PM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Thanks Boe,

I think I read that two other posters here also have a 5770. It's just a hunch but I have tried everything else as far as I know.

Anyone else?
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #399  
Old 05-08-2013, 03:09 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by bortraws View Post
Thanks Boe,

I think I read that two other posters here also have a 5770. It's just a hunch but I have tried everything else as far as I know.

Anyone else?
Ok - don't have any other can throw in - let's see if PT11 does the trick...
Thanks for your inputs...
Boe
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #400  
Old 05-08-2013, 08:31 PM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

ATI Radeo HD 5770 here as well. Still getting occasional -9171 errors. Especially if I drop the buffer down below 512.
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com