Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #351  
Old 01-14-2013, 03:22 PM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
In my experience - often it is user error with things like this.

People often do not trash all the prefs / do not do a complete and full removal / re-install / have redundant RTAS -AAX PLUGINS / don't repair permissions / use cracked plugins / etc ...... And then blame Avid when things don't run 100% smoothly.

Just sayin'.......

this is your point of view


most of the time the troubleshoot options are not necessary cause they dont change anything technically if the system is set up correctly from the groundup. even if someone does everything correct you insist he's done it wrong and needs to do this and that.


long time ago it was recommended to do a two-time format of a harddrive to get the best performance. absolute nonsense but many recommended it!


10.3.3 is one of the few versions where a complete and safe deinstall and reinstall applies and you're right. but avid states that in the installation guide.


removing rtas duplicates of aax plugins is nonsense, pro tools always uses the aax if it is available. the rtas wont get touched. benefits of deleting rtas are zero and just imagination.


repeat your troubleshoot guides as often as you like, but dont call everyone a noob.


if those cpu errors weren't "also" avids fault, 10.3.3 wouldn't have helped most of us!


and while it helped "most" it doesn't mean solved "anyones" problems.
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
  #352  
Old 01-14-2013, 03:45 PM
smfelton's Avatar
smfelton smfelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 682
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
In my experience - often it is user error with things like this.

People often do not trash all the prefs / do not do a complete and full removal / re-install / have redundant RTAS -AAX PLUGINS / don't repair permissions / use cracked plugins / etc ...... And then blame Avid when things don't run 100% smoothly.

Just sayin'.......

Not here, just done a complete drive wipe, only installed ML and PT10.3.3 + Avid VI installed. 10 seconds into playback of small session (10 tracks) -9171.
Just saying
__________________
 OSX 10.11.5, PT 12.5, iConnectAudio4+, Axe FX 2 XL+, Music Man Majesty
Reply With Quote
  #353  
Old 01-14-2013, 05:20 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by psmworld View Post
this is your point of view

removing rtas duplicates of aax plugins is nonsense, pro tools always uses the aax if it is available. the rtas wont get touched. benefits of deleting rtas are zero and just imagination.
Not so sure about that. Before 10.3.3 I was getting 9171's every few minutes. After uninstalling the RTAS equivalents my systems was virtually stable. Now with 10.3.3 it is almost 100%. The occasional drop out but no more 9171's.

I did find a reboot into Safe Mode (using ML 10.8.2) and a subsequent restart did make a huge difference with 906x's
Reply With Quote
  #354  
Old 01-14-2013, 05:20 PM
conrad787 conrad787 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 100
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I'm the same way. I have a 12-core 2.93 Mac Pro. Reformatted and installed 10.8.2, and PT HDX 10.3.3, and tons of -9171 errors in moderate size sessions. Even WORSE, there are tons of BUGS in 10.3.3! Sometimes when I bounce tracks, there will be a track muted, but it will still be added to the bounce! That's UNACCEPTABLE and embarrassing in front of clients.
Reply With Quote
  #355  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:53 PM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
Not so sure about that. Before 10.3.3 I was getting 9171's every few minutes. After uninstalling the RTAS equivalents my systems was virtually stable. Now with 10.3.3 it is almost 100%. The occasional drop out but no more 9171's.

I did find a reboot into Safe Mode (using ML 10.8.2) and a subsequent restart did make a huge difference with 906x's
Same case here. Or maybe it's just my imagination....
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #356  
Old 01-15-2013, 04:52 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 823
Default -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Look PSM world

If you READ my post I opened it by saying IN MY EXPERIENCE.

I NEVER said "everyone is a noob"

You are welcome, of course, to have whatever opinions you want here... But do not put words in my mouth please.

Thank you.

Peace.
Reply With Quote
  #357  
Old 01-15-2013, 05:03 PM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
often it is user error
what should this imply but "most having problems are noobs"?!


where did you get that experience with other users?


and as boe larsen already mentioned, in this case, in this thread and topic it's definitely wrong.
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
  #358  
Old 01-16-2013, 02:22 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

OK, I've been having the same -9171 and -9172 errors throughout my bumpy transition into the world of HDX...

I was rockin' away on an HD6 / 8-core (3,1) machine, but some alarming tech issues (recurring) wore down my nerves to the point of making the jump.

Who the hell has $10K to throw out, let alone another $4.5K for a new machine right? Well, in order to get working right away, I had my dealer update the firmware on the card in their machine, so that I could jam it into the 8-core and get to work.

The constant -917X errors are a dealbreaker, but nobody is going to help you if you're running on an 'unsupported' machine.. Well, I had no choice but to 'upgrade' to a brand new (designed in 2010 but still being sold as 'new' in 2013) 12-core MacPro and I'm still having the same errors, albeit less often.

I did EVERYTHING anybody here has suggested, trash everything, including those specific cache files, repair permissions, boot up in 'Safe' mode, turn off 'Wake for Ethernet Access', etc., etc...

Still, when I click on any of my MDW (AAX) plugins, (about 40% of the time) I get a -917X error and stopped playback. Even with a 12-core machine, the CPU meter seems erratic, with the 'peak' CPU usage fluttering well above the 'average' CPU reading.

I don't know about you folks, but I'm working constantly because I can't afford to say 'no' to ANYTHING. It's a major ordeal for me to turn my world upside-down with sessions that won't run the same, can't be overdubbed in because of massive mixer latency (most things running as Native instead of DSP), and 15 minutes of repurposing plugins in order to get to work.

I certainly have NEVER felt this level of uncertainty about an 'upgrade' before, and my own level of bitterness about this is almost irreconcilable...

I NEED for Avid to win on this. I personally, can not afford to have this level of investment in a system that isn't getting the full attention of every software engineer in the company, and ALL of the outsource guys in the Ukraine, China, etc...

Kiss and make up with Waves, do whatever you need to do, to get DSP versions going, and for GOD's sake, hire back the people that you let go, that actually know how to fix the software, ok?

Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
Reply With Quote
  #359  
Old 01-16-2013, 05:35 PM
juhanni's Avatar
juhanni juhanni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 67
Default -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Please waves, give us dsp!
__________________
-PT 12 HD
Mac pro 2x3,46 ghz 6-core
64 gb ram.
Pro tools HDX, Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog,

http://jonatanmusik.com/
Reply With Quote
  #360  
Old 01-26-2013, 05:22 AM
paultaxicullen paultaxicullen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I must confess to being technically inept. However, I have also started picking up error code 9171 more frequently.

I only bought the system last September and it has been running well - until recently.

I think the error is due to certain brands of plugin... I bought Chromaphone from AAS (applied acoustics) love the plug in but it seemed to cause issues... and I have recently bought the new cheap WAVES pluginsynth ELEMENT... even with 20GB RAM, running these two plugs together is causing issues. I wasn't expecting such lame performance...

Something is amiss and the error code acts like a virus... once it starts occurring it returns like a bad smell.... Oh... my good old 6.4.1 NEVER WENT WRONG - well... after years getting it RIGHT.....

My system is:
MAC OSX 10.7.4
2 x2.4GHz
20 GB RAM
PROTOOLS HD 10 NATIVE 10.3.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com