Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #211  
Old 11-17-2012, 11:48 AM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

2 days straight without a single -9171 or -9172. All my sessions the past two days have been at 44.1k or 48k... nothing higher. I left the buffer at 512 from the sessions I was doing at 88.2k earlier this week. (These were all mixing session btw) Not sure if a 512 buffer is acceptable for those composing with VI's etc. I'd prefer to run mine lower, but this seems to be stable (for now).

Like some of you I'm operating on 10.7.5 which is unapproved so that will probably exclude me from any Avid Tech help.
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 11-17-2012, 12:46 PM
francois francois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 828
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

After a month of intensive testing between partitions and OS
My most trusted one is by far 10.7.5 with 10.3.2.
No errors in a week work so far . I make sure to reboot my system before a client arrival.
I did not reinstalled all of my plugins as I am working with all new reformatted drives .
the only drive that is original is the one containing my plugins VI samples
Installed plugins so far: waves mercury and SSL ,all Avid/digi,massey,some Mc DSP,Vocalign and Melodyne.
Vi:all Avid/digi/air and RMX
More plugins and VI to be installed as I get time to test them
__________________
PT 2020 ultimate -HDX1- OSX 10.15- MacPro 7.1
- D-command 24-Trinnov Dmon
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 11-17-2012, 02:34 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois View Post
After a month of intensive testing between partitions and OS
My most trusted one is by far 10.7.5 with 10.3.2.
No errors in a week work so far . I make sure to reboot my system before a client arrival.
I did not reinstalled all of my plugins as I am working with all new reformatted drives .
the only drive that is original is the one containing my plugins VI samples
Installed plugins so far: waves mercury and SSL ,all Avid/digi,massey,some Mc DSP,Vocalign and Melodyne.
Vi:all Avid/digi/air and RMX
More plugins and VI to be installed as I get time to test them
It's when you get to the VI's is when the fun begins!
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 11-17-2012, 02:39 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIRK View Post
2 days straight without a single -9171 or -9172. All my sessions the past two days have been at 44.1k or 48k... nothing higher. I left the buffer at 512 from the sessions I was doing at 88.2k earlier this week. (These were all mixing session btw) Not sure if a 512 buffer is acceptable for those composing with VI's etc. I'd prefer to run mine lower, but this seems to be stable (for now).

Like some of you I'm operating on 10.7.5 which is unapproved so that will probably exclude me from any Avid Tech help.
Yes 512 seems to be the magic number, but it was more stable at PT 10.1.3 for me. As soon as I updated to 10.3.2 the -9171's were back! I haven't recorded any MIDI yet so I don't know how much latency I'll experience. I guess I'll try that next.
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 11-20-2012, 07:03 AM
David Schober David Schober is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Brentwood, TN, USA
Posts: 220
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I've had lots of these errors since upgrading to 10.3.2. Making these changes have so far given me ZERO errors in the last two hours of use. It may not work for your system, but it has with me on my Nehalem.

HW Buffer 1024
7 processors
CPU 85%
Cachhe Normal
Plugin Streaming Buffer Level 8
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 11-23-2012, 07:54 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Schober View Post
I've had lots of these errors since upgrading to 10.3.2. Making these changes have so far given me ZERO errors in the last two hours of use. It may not work for your system, but it has with me on my Nehalem.

HW Buffer 1024
7 processors
CPU 85%
Cachhe Normal
Plugin Streaming Buffer Level 8
I had my first full session today with no errors as well! : )
I had it 512 for the HW Buffer and at 4 processors
Disc Cache at 8GB
Plugin Streaming at default
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 11-24-2012, 11:54 PM
Lydspesialisten Lydspesialisten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Schober View Post
I've had lots of these errors since upgrading to 10.3.2. Making these changes have so far given me ZERO errors in the last two hours of use. It may not work for your system, but it has with me on my Nehalem.

HW Buffer 1024
7 processors
CPU 85%
Cachhe Normal
Plugin Streaming Buffer Level 8
Hey David!
It would be helpful if you post your system information as well

Mac Pro 3.33ghz 6 core , 24GB Ram (2010 mod 5.1) OSX 10.7.4
Avid HDX running PT 10.3.2
Avid HD I/O ( 888 config)
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 11-25-2012, 05:37 AM
Lydspesialisten Lydspesialisten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARVINBASS View Post
I had my first full session today with no errors as well! : )
I had it 512 for the HW Buffer and at 4 processors
Disc Cache at 8GB
Plugin Streaming at default
Does this mean that half the number og prosessors is the magic one or do this varies from machine to machine ?
Im at the brink of returning the HDX system and buy something else. Im having far to many crashes every day to continue working on this system. Iv tuned everything to avids specs but as you guys pointed out Im having crashes with one track,no plugs in 44.1 sessions... My dealer suggests it might be my mac and I should try another machine. Maybe his right maybe not ? After reading this Im leaning on that this clearly is the HDX system and not my computer..

However.. After reading reviews etc there are many many people with Mac based HDX systems working flawlessly. So wheres the problem ?? I dont wanna buy a new mac and finding out that it had nothing to do with my machine ..

Ohfff.. what a nightmare !
__________________
David Johansen
Norway
https://www.facebook.com/david.johansen.18?ref=tn_tnmn

_Mac Pro 3.33ghz 6 core , 24GB Ram (2010 mod 5.1) OSX 10.7.4
Avid HDX running PT 10.3.2
Avid HD I/O ( 888 config)_
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 11-25-2012, 12:50 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hey David,

It's not your Mac. I have the identical Mac but running 10.7.5. If you push your system too hard, you will start seeing these error's. My buffer is set to 256, using 6 out of 12 proc's, CPU 99%, Disk Cache 7. There's no magic config. You have to play around a little to find what works for you.

I did test PT with 10.8.2 and I had a lot of error's, so I'm staying with 10.7.5. Also, if you instantiate a lot of VI's, my suggestion would be to get VEPro, and let it do all the work.
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 11-25-2012, 01:37 PM
LarsSlate LarsSlate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 24
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Just curious has these errors been HDX users only or have HD Native users experienced this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com