Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #171  
Old 11-03-2012, 02:31 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
We are not ignoring the issue. It's just been a challenge keeping up on this thread... there are conflicting posts about it being solved by various troubleshooting methods or different OS versions, different error #s reported, etc.

Still, Eng has been investigating this. It would be helpful if those experiencing the problem could update their signature with their system info, as well as state specifically which errors they are getting (and how often), and if possible provide dlog files.

We can set up support cases for specific customers to improve tracking of this.
Ah Finally!! Thank You!! BTW say hi to Greg Robles for me!!

This problem seemed to have started After OSX 10.7.3 using Pro Tools 10.1.3
but I still get them using a beta version of Kontakt that I'm testing and Abbey Road Drums.
I've been testing different OSX's versions and Pro Tools until I got back
to OSX 10.7.3 and PT 10.1.3 that didn't give me any errors until I loaded Abbey Road Drums. I have made a bug report to Native Instruments on this. So they are aware.

BTW:How do you produce or find the "dlogs"?
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 11-04-2012, 05:34 AM
khoop2112 khoop2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 184
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Thanks Avid.

My experience with this issue is that it isn't triggered by any type of plug in. I was having this problem with a single stereo track and recording a new mono track with no plugs.

It does seem tied into what is happening with the computer in the background - having Safari or Mail open seems to give me more errors.

When I restarted in safe mode, then rebooted, the problem got better. Eventually, the error starts to return.

The problem has lately seemed to occur more with very dense plug in heavy sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 11-05-2012, 08:41 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

FYI - I tried a clean install a few weeks back. Disabled all internet (removed ethernet and airport from network preferences) and removed every file related to safari, mail, notifications, spotlight and all non music related apps, preferences and system files.

Installed PT, removed all avid plugs except mixer.

Launched PT, added 2 stereo tracks and started recording. about 5 minutes later, after stopping and starting record several times, the -9171 error came up.

So I can't see how this would be related to receiving and messages or notifications. - - I also had disabled all cloud services.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 11-05-2012, 11:23 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
We are not ignoring the issue. It's just been a challenge keeping up on this thread... there are conflicting posts about it being solved by various troubleshooting methods or different OS versions, different error #s reported, etc.

Still, Eng has been investigating this. It would be helpful if those experiencing the problem could update their signature with their system info, as well as state specifically which errors they are getting (and how often), and if possible provide dlog files.

We can set up support cases for specific customers to improve tracking of this.
Hi DigiTechSupt.
My case id is: 02023515

Best,
Boe
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 11-05-2012, 04:48 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Post Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

We were aware of Boe's support case, but thanks for filling in some additional blanks. The info about 'background' activity is interesting.

Pro Tools logs can be found in:
home > Library > Logs > Avid > Pro Tools

dlogs can be found in:
home > Library > Logs > AvidLogFiles
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 11-07-2012 at 10:42 AM. Reason: Updated with correct dlog path.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 11-05-2012, 11:00 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe Larsen View Post
Hi DigiTechSupt.
My case id is: 02023515

Best,
Boe
BTW - Boe, (I'm bet you know this) VEPro 5 is now AAX. Loads SO much faster than the rtas version. (NOT AAX DSP, Just AAX)
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 11-06-2012, 12:03 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronwasserman View Post
BTW - Boe, (I'm bet you know this) VEPro 5 is now AAX. Loads SO much faster than the rtas version. (NOT AAX DSP, Just AAX)
Yep. Got it.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 11-06-2012, 07:39 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
We were aware of Boe's support case, but thanks for filling in some additional blanks. The info about 'background' activity is interesting.

On Mac, dlogs can be found in:
home > Library > Logs > Avid > Pro Tools
Did you delete my last post??

Also I found the dlogs, but they are at:
~/Library/Logs/AvidLogFiles
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 11-07-2012, 09:29 PM
Logichead Logichead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 430
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

FWIW, I have been having odd unpredictable muting of audio occur, dropouts, in every session, always at least 1 a day. We are tracking vocals, and when the dropout occurred during recording, all outputs went silent and audio was recorded but with no signal. On Monday, I disabled Bluetooth and Wi-Fi and had my first session without an audio dropout, might be something or it might be serendipity. Don't know if this applies to your problems but I thought I'd share. No session today but will try again tomorrow.

Best...H
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 11-08-2012, 06:26 PM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logichead View Post
FWIW, I have been having odd unpredictable muting of audio occur, dropouts, in every session, always at least 1 a day. We are tracking vocals, and when the dropout occurred during recording, all outputs went silent and audio was recorded but with no signal. On Monday, I disabled Bluetooth and Wi-Fi and had my first session without an audio dropout, might be something or it might be serendipity. Don't know if this applies to your problems but I thought I'd share. No session today but will try again tomorrow.

Best...H
I had these same exact dropouts yesterday. (Wednesday) It's the first time I've ever had that particular problem. I thought I was going nuts. I rebooted the system a few times and nothing improved. Then after a reboot in safe mode, a regular restart and repair of the disk permissions, I was able to get rid of the dropouts. ????
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com