Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-07-2005, 02:10 PM

Default Slightly OT, drum triggers....

Hi guys,

I am a drummer using a g4 with 001, running reason 3 and PT 6.4.
I have been using my mouse to program midi in PT, triggering from reason.

I have recently just realised all my training as a pro drummer is negated, as i am not playing in anything live, and obvioulsy the 'groove/feel' is missing.

So my question is this, how good are drum triggers?

Are they basically off/on parameters, or can you get a range of dynamics from them?
Can you play quite softly (I live in a flat) but still get them to trigger?
Anyone recommend any they have used?
What is a good sound module for plugging them into?

I probably will only get three: BD, SD, HH (is that possible?) for just groove stuff, so obviously a roland td module might be a bit wasted, anything cheaper for my needs out there?

Thanks in advance, i am quite naive to the whole electronic drums stuff...

Andrew
Old 07-07-2005, 02:16 PM

Default Re: Slightly OT, drum triggers....

guess it all depends on what kind of set up youe want. I use Trigger finger running through TooTracks BFH Superior. Way sweet! You can also get a midi drum kit and do the same thing. I am not a drummer so I use trigger finger to program my tracks, and then use Rewire to connect to BFH. It has everything from multiple mics on the kick, to overheads, etc. Just got the stuff last week and it's amazing.
Old 07-07-2005, 02:23 PM

I ideally want to use my existing kit, but with triggers, so I make my parts sound as live and realistic as possible.