Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2002, 03:23 PM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Beat Detective cuts off beginning of transient

Beat Detective has been working great for me but all too often when it "separates" the transients, it tends to chop off the very beginning of each drum hit. I have to manually trim back the beginning of each transient to get the full "whack" of the drum hits. Any thoughts?
Thanks
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2002, 04:06 PM
rtcstudio rtcstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Beat Detective cuts off beginning of transient

This happens to me usually when the drummer is overall "rushing".

Before you begin Beat Detective, nudge the area you are working on so that the drummer is not early to the click. BD seems to like to move things back better than moving them forward.

Also, experiment with High and Low emphasis. If, for instance, the Snare is early to the Hi Hat, but you have BD set to High Emphasis, it will tend to favor the Hi Hat transient, adding the separation point after the snare has already hit. Low emphasis seems to work a lot better for me on Toms, Snares, and Kicks. On Low, the separation points will be put more accurately on the main drums, and not the cymbals and hat.

I still find that it is good to check BD's work, and zoom in a little to make sure it put the markers where I want them, before I separate.

Hope any of that helps you.
__________________
Pro Tools 10/11 HD, Mac OS 10.8.2, Mac Pro 2 x 2.4 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (June 2012) 64 Gig RAM, Avid HDX Card, OMNI HD I/O, 192 HD 16x16, Artist MC Control, Firewire audio drives, Sony Bravia 42" HDMI monitor, Acer 24" monitor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2002, 07:19 PM
PeeTee PeeTee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 813
Default Re: Beat Detective cuts off beginning of transient

Set region pad to 10ms or more.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2002, 12:10 AM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Beat Detective cuts off beginning of transient

Thanks, rtcstudio and PeeTee. The low emphasis really made the difference. Don't know why I never thought of switching it. I'll definitely change the region pad, too.
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tempo mapping Beat Detective or identify beat? grateful 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-14-2012 09:13 PM
Beat Detective best place for transient markers? Iron Shirt Pro Tools 10 0 05-09-2012 06:39 PM
Grid and Bar/Beat Markers scrambled and disabled after using Beat Detective!! Robbry Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-24-2010 02:14 PM
Beat Detective, Beat markers to Tempo Ruler?!? phobia Tips & Tricks 3 01-01-2007 01:31 PM
Tab-To-Transient vs Beat Detective cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-27-2004 04:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com