Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > RTAS & TDM Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:19 PM
sjtae sjtae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Korea
Posts: 12
Default Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

I have got the email from Waves.
It says TDM licenses have been replaced by SoundGrid licenses..
Isn't there any changes to use? Do I need to do something for TDM auth?

Last edited by sjtae; 07-18-2013 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2013, 05:04 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,399
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

If you're already on waves v9, authorization is the same (v9 uses their waves license manager, using a usb flash drive to hold the authorization). If your still on v8 or earlier, you're still on ilok, and you'd have to update to 9, which I believe means surrendering you v8 or earlier ilok asset, and switching to their new system which you can use any usb flash drive as a dongle.

You will still be able to auth waves v9 for tdm the only difference is the added ability to authorize on soundgrid boxes.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2013, 05:15 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,561
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjtae View Post
I have got the email from Waves.
It says TDM licenses have been replaced by SoundGrid licenses..
Isn't there any changes to use? Do I need to do something for TDM auth?
Hi,

Its just badly worded when they say "replaced" Guess they want to give the impression that sound grid is king and TDM is past history

dream on Waves


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2013, 05:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,663
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
If your still on v8 or earlier, you're still on ilok, and you'd have to update to 9, which I believe means surrendering you v8 or earlier ilok asset, and switching to their new system
You will *NOT* have to surrender the iLok license, you get to keep that as complimentary bonus for updating to V9. Which is why everyone should jump to V9 immediately.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2013, 10:12 AM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 200
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Hello,

Quote:
You will *NOT* have to surrender the iLok license, you get to keep that as complimentary bonus for updating to V9. Which is why everyone should jump to V9 immediately.
I was cataloging my iLoks, eLicensers, usb drive / hard drive auths, and HASPs the other day and couldn't figure out why I still had an iLok with Mercury v8 on it. That explains it. Guess it's time to buy an old TDM system and build a plugin server.....

Thanks,
Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2013, 05:23 PM
sjtae sjtae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Korea
Posts: 12
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Thanks All! It helps a lot to me :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2013, 02:09 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 609
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

WUP no my Mercury is still valid and I asked if they would update my V8 ilok license to the last there is (I missed updating it back then and I'm missing some plugins from my V8 version) but the response from Waves was they won't update any ilok licenses anymore.

So FAIL from my side this time... I have a V9 Platinum TDM too that I left @ V7 on my ilok... oh well... live and learn.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2013, 05:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,663
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
I have a V9 Platinum TDM too that I left @ V7 on my ilok... oh well... live and learn.
That's good if you have a PT8 system somewhere I myself have a tertiary system that tops at PT8.0 and that Waves V7 iLok key is kind of welded to that machine...

I actually had it on V8 already, but asked Waves to downgrade it to V7 as I wanted 100% compatibility. They kindly made an exception with me and I really appreciate that.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2013, 03:58 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
the response from Waves was they won't update any ilok licenses anymore.
Can you give us more info on this do you mean they won't downgrade you any more, so if you are on V9 and want to downgrade to V8 like I do because V9 makes my plugs grey out on triple monitors. Are you saying they won't do this now???
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2013, 04:14 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,152
Default Re: Waves license (TDM-> SoundGrid)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Can you give us more info on this do you mean they won't downgrade you any more, so if you are on V9 and want to downgrade to V8 like I do because V9 makes my plugs grey out on triple monitors. Are you saying they won't do this now???
Oh yea, this bug makes version 9 worthless to me.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves Diamond TDM SoundGrid V9 Milamber Buy & Sell 13 07-09-2014 09:17 PM
FS: Waves Studio Classics -(Soundgrid/TDM License: starting bid BELOW Native!!!) L.O.N. Buy & Sell 0 08-20-2013 10:41 AM
FS: Waves Studio Classics Collection Bundle - (Soundgrid/TDM License) L.O.N. Buy & Sell 1 08-12-2013 10:23 AM
Waves v.9 TDM to get SoundGrid Licenses joesackic RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 10 05-30-2013 03:47 PM
Waves SoundGrid digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 04-30-2010 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com