Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-29-2013, 05:16 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by protoolsuserman View Post
I use the shortcut but it's knowing when pro tools will quit, and I literally make a lot of changes in a short space of time, so remembering to hit CTRL S every other minute is a challenge when you're trying to focus on the project in hand.

Robert
I disagree that it's a challenge; every couple of changes - ctrl-S for Windoze and cmd-S for Macs. It's automatic for me - also called muscle memory. As long as you have one hand on the keyboard it's easy - you just have to get into the habit.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-29-2013, 10:08 PM
Polarbear066 Polarbear066 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Japan
Posts: 17
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by grantfloering View Post
Hello,


It is very strange how the crash only happens when you jump around the timeline OR press play pause quickly and jump back and fourth.

Does your PT11 software give you an error message, or does it just unexpectedly quit (like mine) and send an AVID report form to send to the techs?

Mine quits unexpectedly too. One moment its there, the next gone. I use Trilian through Metaplugin or VEPro and that seems to solve the problem for the time being.

I, too, have my hands glued to the cmd+s position but its such a pain to have to re-load everything and start again. Don't know who's fault it is, Avid's or Spectrasonic's but I hope they fix it soon.
__________________
MacPro 3.1, MacBookPro 2010, 24Gig RAM, OS 10.10.5
ProTools 12.6.1, MOTU Track16, MOTU Traveller,
MTP-AV, Yamaha O2R
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2013, 03:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

While I've not had the crash I have had PT come real close to it. I watch the cpu meters in PT11 and with some of the patches in Omnisphere I can push the top accumulative cpu meter into the red zone (and cpu 4 of 8 in the meter below the top meter shows the most usage of upwards 85-90%). One Omnisphere instance on an Instrument track and a couple of rendered to audio instances of EWQLSO in Play 4. If Trillian is anything like Omnisphere then it's a cpu hog for sure.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:38 AM
hanstondo hanstondo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: brussels
Posts: 17
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

new versions of spectrasonic software doesn't stop protools crashing
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-2013, 03:46 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanstondo View Post
new versions of spectrasonic software doesn't stop protools crashing
No problem here - what's your daw system?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-10-2013, 11:40 AM
wmcintyre wmcintyre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: london
Posts: 293
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanstondo View Post
new versions of spectrasonic software doesn't stop protools crashing
correct...too easy to crash
__________________
]
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

For those of you who are having crashes - what are you doing to make that happen? Just stating you have crashes without saying exactly what you're doing when the crash happens and what your system setup is means nothing. There are those of us who don't have crashes on our systems and without knowing whether we have similar systems none of us know if we're just lucky or what.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:39 PM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 310
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polarbear066 View Post
I have the same problem. For me I only need the Trilian or Omnisphere instantiated (initial patch, no MIDI data), hit play and jump around the time line. Crashes my PT11 100% unless I have an instance of Click II in which case the click goes nuts but doesn't crash PT.
Been driving me mad this one, I've switched back to Ableton now as it made PT unusable.
Had no idea it and the click bug were linked to Spectrasonics - my sessions are loaded with Omni/RMX and Trillian.

Are Avid aware of this?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:45 PM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 310
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
For those of you who are having crashes - what are you doing to make that happen? Just stating you have crashes without saying exactly what you're doing when the crash happens and what your system setup is means nothing. There are those of us who don't have crashes on our systems and without knowing whether we have similar systems none of us know if we're just lucky or what.

Clicking the dynamic play start marker at some point way ahead in the session does it half the time for me, instant crash. But it's as vague as the click bug, I haven't noticed anything else that causes it - but my sessions always have Omni/Trillian/RXM in them and people are saying that's related?

Mac Pro, 10.8.5, PT 11.03
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-10-2013, 09:23 PM
Polarbear066 Polarbear066 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Japan
Posts: 17
Default Re: anybody able to reproduce this crash with spectrasonics aax plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanstondo View Post
new versions of spectrasonic software doesn't stop protools crashing

Same here. Newest version still crashes when moving around the timeline.
__________________
MacPro 3.1, MacBookPro 2010, 24Gig RAM, OS 10.10.5
ProTools 12.6.1, MOTU Track16, MOTU Traveller,
MTP-AV, Yamaha O2R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Verify / reproduce Bug (Crash) KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-09-2009 01:12 PM
SPECTRASONICS TRILOGY CAUSING PRO TOOLS TO CRASH! nestageez Virtual Instruments 6 07-21-2008 08:01 PM
SPECTRASONICS TRILOGY CAUSING PRO TOOLS TO CRASH! nestageez Virtual Instruments 0 07-01-2008 01:17 PM
Can Digi or Anyone reproduce this RTAS crash? brianjanthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 04-26-2007 07:09 PM
Crash...and i can reproduce it Bobbers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-14-2006 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com