Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-19-2020, 03:46 PM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 196
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
just turn the solo safe on on the aux track, problem solved
With all due respect, there are many times where the current AUX solo safe option is frustrating.
For instance, trying to listen to a reverb return.
The VCA solo usability is the main reason that I've moved my workflow in that direction.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-19-2020, 03:51 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

So Track Folders will be here in 2020...... is that 2020.1, .2, .3, .4, .5, .6, .7, .8, .9, .10, .11 or .12?
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.12-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-19-2020, 03:52 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,241
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
So Track Folders will be here in 2020...... is that 2020.1, .2, .3, .4, .5, .6, .7, .8, .9, .10, .11 or .12?
Pun taken. Last year the dot-one was postponed to dot-three first and then released as dot-five later
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-20-2020, 02:06 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 176
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
With all due respect, there are many times where the current AUX solo safe option is frustrating.
For instance, trying to listen to a reverb return.
The VCA solo usability is the main reason that I've moved my workflow in that direction.
true
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-20-2020, 07:56 AM
krabbencutter krabbencutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: germany
Posts: 83
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Pun taken. Last year the dot-one was postponed to dot-three first and then released as dot-five later
True, but that was also because they ran into issues with the increased voice count for HDX hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-20-2020, 08:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,241
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by krabbencutter View Post
True, but that was also because they ran into issues with the increased voice count for HDX hardware.
Still unresolved, by the way
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-21-2020, 11:15 AM
onosendai onosendai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 90
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
just turn the solo safe on on the aux track, problem solved
You could do that and that's what I do, however the VCA-way is much more intuitive and it enables me able to e.g. listen to just reverb returns and work much faster with track groups, since I can work in chunks and not just in single tracks. You can create tracks groups, but depending on what you do, it's too much a hassle to set up first and the whole enable/disable thing.

In the context of Folder tracks the VCA Solo behaviour makes much more sense, so I was just curious if anyone had tested it at NAMM
__________________
i7 5820K, 32GB | Windows 10 Pro, PT 2019.12 Ultimate | RME FF802
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-21-2020, 11:18 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,241
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

We shall see soon enough..?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-21-2020, 11:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,163
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsearcher View Post
......where the current AUX solo safe option is frustrating.
For instance, trying to listen to a reverb return.
This was a sore spot for me until I concocted my way around it. I have a send in the last slot of every track. They are all set to pre-fade and set to -0 and muted. I can Ctrl-click on any of those sends(one or any combo) and the signal is routed out to a separate set of outputs. On my speaker switcher(Presonus Central Station for now), I can choose to listen to that output, instead of the main mix, or in combo with main mix on one set of speakers and the send signal on a separate set. Solved lots of issues for me
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-21-2020, 12:31 PM
onosendai onosendai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 90
Default Re: Track Folders Are Here .. !

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
This was a sore spot for me until I concocted my way around it. I have a send in the last slot of every track. They are all set to pre-fade and set to -0 and muted. I can Ctrl-click on any of those sends(one or any combo) and the signal is routed out to a separate set of outputs. On my speaker switcher(Presonus Central Station for now), I can choose to listen to that output, instead of the main mix, or in combo with main mix on one set of speakers and the send signal on a separate set. Solved lots of issues for me
I keep thinking that you solved it by mixing outside the box, but you are in fact doing it in the box.
__________________
i7 5820K, 32GB | Windows 10 Pro, PT 2019.12 Ultimate | RME FF802
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are track folders, and what is the magic therein? jscomposer Pro Tools 2019 10 12-14-2019 05:12 PM
Feature Request - Track Folders or Trees DrFord Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-29-2010 07:45 PM
track folders vikingbrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-14-2005 07:45 PM
red folders....... Chris Lambrechts General Discussion 6 11-23-2000 01:43 AM
Folders fender General Discussion 0 01-05-1999 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com