How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2011, 07:30 AM

Default Apogee duet or one.. problems

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to pro tools, and this is my first post on the forum. I have to give a big thanks to this forum, every problem that I have encountered has been solved by doing a little searching around on the DUC. I can't say the same for Avid's website. I'm sure everything is there, just seems harder to find.

Anyway, to my question...I have an Imac, 1 firewire port 800, OWC Oxford chipset External, and an Apogee Duet, recently upgraded from Mbox mini 2.

I am running 800 to 400 cable from computer to external, then 400 out from external to Apogee (daisychain).
From my searches here on the DUC, this is the recomended method. However, once in awhile I get a few pops that I never experienced before. Some have said hook up the external to USB, but I have read enough to know better.
It has me wondering if the Apogee One might be better suited, condsidering I only have 1 firwireport. I don't know...maybe it's a non issue.
I know that I don't need 2 out's etc. I also know it has been beat to death that the One and Duet have the same converters etc...not sure that anyone knows for sure.

I guess my question is...will everything run smoother with the "ONE" instead of daisy chaining the "DUET" ?

Anyway, hopefully I haven't left anything out. Most people seem to think the Duet is the way to go. I agree it "sounds" great! Just wanting some opinions.

Imac i3 intel 10.6.6
OWC external Oxford
Apogee Duet

Last edited by btele; 02-10-2011 at 07:50 AM. Reason: change title
Old 02-10-2011, 10:21 AM

Default Re: Apogee duet or one.. problems